We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Interesting Wines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria

Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria
1321 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005
+1 575-526-2484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 332 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food and Interesting Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in town for one night on a Sunday and looking for a place to stay close to our campground. Luna Rossa was close and it was open - two pluses on a Sunday. The food was good. We had a pizza and I had a salad. We also had the cheese tray appetizer.

I was most impressed with the free wine tasting and the amount of wine served - both in the tasting and when I purchased a glass. I ended up with a red that was pretty decent. The whites were a little too sweet.

But overall, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Maybe you didn't go to Mesilla for Italian, but this little bistro is a treat.

We didn't enjoy it to the max since we did take-out, but the pizza and the lasagna were both delicious. The thin crust pizza was very nice.

The winery features wine from grapes grown in nearby Demming and our bottle of Zin (to go) was quite respectable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Real Southern Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria is hands-down the best Italian food in Las Cruces. The pizzas are thin crust with simple tomato sauce and quality cheese. Lots of topping choices. My husband and I have eaten a few of their dishes, $10-$12, my favorite is the Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto. The servings are very generous and the salads are made from very fresh mixed greens. The dining room is not large but is inviting and impeccably clean. Our service has always been prompt and the servers are very friendly and willing to answer questions. Don't miss their gorgeous house-made desserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Classical Italian cuisine with especially good pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good selection of New Mexico wines and the reds are particularly nice. Easy access to I-10. Service is inconsistent. Service at the wine bar was good; service in the restaurant area, not so good (and that's a pity because the food is excellent.)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We visited on a Monday. They offer $ 5.00 one topping pizzas all day. The pizza was perfect from a wood fired oven. The service was friendly and efficient. My wife and I each ordered a pizza, and we shared a house salad, and there was enough pizza to take some home with us. The nice thing for us was that we could sit outside on their very nice patio with our dog. Definitely worth the trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.