We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"love the food here"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe A Go Go

Cafe A Go Go
1120 Commerce Dr, Suite A, Las Cruces, NM 88011-8226
575-522-0383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 332 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"love the food here"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've been here several times, and I've found the food to be consistently delightful. I particularly enjoy the Southwest Shrimp Lo Mein and the Yake Mein (Fresh Noodle) soup. The prices are reasonable, and the atmosphere is casual. It gets a little busy at the normal lunch hour so I would recommend you avoid that. Enjoy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Watch your bill at the end!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here based on TA high ranking-tourists passing through. Food was well-prepared, though the chicken kung pow was way too spicy hot for my taste . The fresh noodle soup was wonderful. Coffee was excellent. But we got a check at the end that was $18 over our order! No apologies offered. Had to request water twice before being served. Servers (unwittingly ?) are not providing a welcoming atmosphere. Too bad because the food served was high quality.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, warm ambiance, and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've had breakfast and lunch here on several occasions this past year, and enjoyed it every time. The food is fresh, beautifully presented, and reasonably priced. The service is excellent and the the ambiance is warm and friendly. The Asian bowls are especially attractive.

I live in Florida, and visit Las Cruses for medical reasons, so I am not a regular customer. The owner never fails to say hello, even though I am an infrequent visitor, and is always very accommodating to my needs and those of my friends.

Nancy S.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not Quite Very Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate here for the first time recently - did lunch. The space has been a couple of different restaurants over the years so we thought we would see what a place featuring Asian rice bowls would be like. In fact, because of the bowls, I avoided the wraps, sandwiches, and burgers on the menu. That was probably a mistake.
I ordered a rice bowl featuring chicken and pineapple. I received a large bowl with an appropriate dollop of rice on one side. In looking through the contents there was a nice selections of vegetables - broccoli, mushrooms, carrots, water chestnuts, etc. There were also lots of nice chunks of chicken. Basically, it looked like the ideal healthy lunch, the kind my wife would prefer I eat.
The problem was that the only real taste in this mixture was the occasional pineapple piece. It looks like the chicken was boiled to cook it so not much taste there afterward. Also, the vegetables tasted as if they were just boiled as well. This dish, except for the few pineapple bits, had not pop, no zip, no nothing. I yearned to pour soy sauce all over it.
I wanted to give the place a fourth star because it could have been so good, so healthy but they seem to have lost all the seasonings you can use in Oriental cooking.
My wife, on the other hand, was delighted with her chicken tortilla soup w/green chile. Lots of good flavors and well prepared.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Adifferent place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Finally went to Cafe A Go Go after seeing it for many months and not trying. So sorry we waited so long. As we walked in , we were welcomed by the staff. , waited on immediately even though it was crowded. Menu is very inclusive- Asian, Mexican and just plain American. We had rice bowls- delicious and plentiful.You must try the Krab Ragoon-WOW. Very fresh food. Large variety of drinks. Friendly staff and very helpful. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe A Go Go also viewed

 

Been to Cafe A Go Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe A Go Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.