We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi in Las Cruces” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine

Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine
900 B South Telshor Blvd., Las Cruces, NM 88011
+1 575-522-7333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 326 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Dim Sum, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Description: Aqua Reef is a unique dining experience where East meets West and blend together for a true culinary treat. Always sensitive to your dietary needs Aqua Reef offers an extensive vegetarian and gluten free menu. We invite you to experience the intimate, romantic setting that Aqua Reef has to offer. A delicious assortment of beer, wine and sake await you. Come experience a unique splash of world cuisine sure to delight-right here in Las Cruces.
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good sushi in Las Cruces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice casual atmosphere.....waitress was very attentive and helpful with picking out sushi rolls. Not world class but good for New Mexico. Main Entree was very good also (I had the Singapore Seafood Noodles and my wife had the Scallops in a light pastry). Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen F, General Manager at Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello John And Jean!
Thank you for the wonderful compliments; we are so glad you chose to dine at Aqua Reef and enjoyed your experience. It is especially terrific to hear that our staff was informative and attentive; we will be sure to pass on those positive remarks! Please tell your friends and of course, we can't wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Eileen M. Flint, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Raw tilapia ! Eat this !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a gorgeous location, next to a garish liquor store. More to get you pre-pumped up for the Jersey-Shore decor next-door. Yes, there is a floating "bar" of shredded and dissected fish on "happy" boats. And perhaps there is a nice person behind the counter. But what they serve in front of you is pretty only on the outside. I say no, from all of us who have been there, done that, and eaten better.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen F, General Manager at Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello Fugugaipain!
We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with our location, decor, sushi boats, or food. I am glad to know that our staff was pleasant though and that you had no complaints about our crew. Thank you for recognizing our beautiful food, and we are sorry that you were unsettled to discover that the whitefish is tilipia. As I'm sure you know, this is actually a very common marketing practice i.e. to change the name of a fish to make it sound more desirable, for instance, the Chilean Sea Bass is not a bass at all, it's a Patagonian Toothfish. At Aqua Reef, we prefer to tell you the truth-that our white fish is tilapia and not the "red snapper" that tilapia is often known by in the sushi world. Rest assured, our tilapia has been handled properly for sushi preparation, the health inspector is quite aware that we serve it, and many of our guests really do love our sashimi, decor, restaurant and wonderful staff too! Thanks for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Eileen M.Flint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

the food tastes wonderful
but it is overpriced. especially for las cruces.

If I am going to pay 12$-15$ for a sushi roll,
it better be fresh, delicious and keep me watning more.
I do not feel that way about Aqua Reef.
I would definitely go back, but I do think its pricey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Las Cruces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This 36 seat restaurant located next to a fine liquor store, Celebration on Telshor, would be highly recommended just for Kobe ( actually,Waygu) beef on the menu. You get ca. 8 thin slices of meat which are quickly cooked on a hot stone. Other items worth trying are seaweed salad, egg drop and miso soups, and azsuki bean balls (Japanese manju). This Pan-Asian restaurant serves sushi, raw and maki rolls, satays, etc. It should be noted that service can be slow during dinner service because they may have only a sushi chef for the 12 seat sushi bar and one chef in back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to Aqua Reef intending to pick sushi off of the floating boats at the sushi bar. We wound up ordering a couple of well prepared sushi rolls and Kobe beef we prepared ourselves on a hot stone brought to us at the bar. The seasoning was magnificent. They call themselves a Euro Asian restaurant and the title is appropriate. Help were courteous and attentive. If we pass through Las Cruces again, we will dine there and experiment some more. Indeed, a fun dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Reef Euro-Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.