We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De La Vega's Pecan Grill and Brewery

De La Vega's Pecan Grill and Brewery
500 S. Telshor, Las Cruces, NM 88011
5755211099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 326 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carlsbad, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate at this restaurant only once before, but wanted to go back. We called ahead to place a reservation as we had noticed that the place was popular. We got there a bit early and were seated rather quickly. Our waiter suggested a very good wine which complemented our meal. I happen to have an allergy to chile peppers, so when the bread came out with the butter (that had green chile in it), I quickly asked for plain butter. Our waiter immediately brought us butter I could have. The food was excellent as was the service. This is a good restaurant to go to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    44
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Change of chefs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This restaurant was top-notch until the chef left. Since then it's hit or miss. Sorry to see it as it was improving day by day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“No service problems-just god food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a large lunch so we did small plates

Tried 3 sides using green chiles

Green chile Mac n cheese
Green chile risotto -- would love to serve this to an Italian chef in Italy--- delicious but spicy
Green chile stuffed baked potato with cheese

Delicious side salad with jalapeño ranch dressing-had pecans in salad

Various micro brewed beers available - had dark beer sampler

Reasonable prices and ability to mix and match

Go- very good and high value

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Has Gone Downhill Lately”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at De La Vega's twice in the past month and both times it was just so-so. It used to be much better. I agree wholeheartedly with the reviewer who said that management needs to do a better job of training the hostesses. Our hostess took us to our table, just laid the menus and the napkin/silverware rolls on the table and walked away. She didn't even put the menus and silverware at each place at the table - she just dumped it all in the middle of the table and walked off. She didn't even say "So and so will be your server and will be with you in a minute."

We watched several other customers being seated and this hostess did exactly the same thing so you saw customers basically having to set their own tables. After that the service was mediocre at best. We weren't even asked if we wanted bread and we had to ask. The food was just OK and the portions smaller than what we had been served there on previous visits.

The waitress was not attentive, and we are not very demanding customers. For a place that presents itself as trendy and somewhat upscale this is totally unacceptable. It's not a cheap meal at De La Vega's so the service should be top notch.

This is in total contrast to our experience at The Outback the following night. Even though I would consider Outback to be not as "upscale" as De La Vega's, the service was terrific and the hostess was very pleasant, set our place settings for us and let us know who our server was and made sure we were settled. It's obvious she has had good training. Take note De La Vega's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not comming back in a long time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The food came out cold and unappetizing to look at. The waitress was busy socializing with one of the other tables. I don't not walked out too happy. Other times the service has been great I guess it was just our waitress.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De La Vega's Pecan Grill and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to De La Vega's Pecan Grill and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De La Vega's Pecan Grill and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.