We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this arty B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lundeen Inn of the Arts

Lundeen Inn of the Arts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lundeen Inn of the Arts to your Saves list
Lundeen Inn of the Arts
618 S. Alameda Blvd, Las Cruces, NM 88005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Las Cruces B&B and Inns
Deming, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this arty B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved our room filled with antiques and the view from the balcony into the great room filled with art. The breakfast of enchiladas, eggs, and Greek yogurt was excellent. Most memorable was the interesting converation with our gracious hosts, the Lundeens, and their guests from Santa Fe. Arty ambience galore! We had no problem finding the inn, as we were given specific directions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked a night at this B&B. It was the worst mistake. The place might have been great years ago; now it is only memories. They address does is hidden and they did not bother to tell me; I was going around in circles and was almost ready to give up. The room was uncomfortable, musty and cold. I needed to leave the next day around 8:00. i was told breakfast would be ready at 7:30 am. It was not, and I left only with a cup of barely decent coffee in my stomach. The cook looked more like a character from Mexican novela, and was definitely unwilling to prepare breakfast. I had a short interaction with the owner, who only knew to talk about himself and how great his inn was. My advise: stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. A Hampton Inn would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We attempted to stay the night @ this B&B. We MADE reservations and gave our CC to guarantee our room. We arrived later than expected and when we did arrive our room had been given away. There appeared to be confusion by their staff on how to properly take a reservation nonetheless; it was late, we were tired w/tired kiddos & no room. The woman did apologize & gave us info. on a local motel. [There was some big concert @ the PanAm and all hotels were booked!]

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation by calling them hourly or they will give it away. Give them your ETA arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is by far the most interesting place we have ever stayed. The hosts were so gracious before and during our stay, and even offered us assistance if we decide to relocate to Las Cruces. With people so friendly, it's definitely one of our top choices for relocation. Each room is unique and quirky, and named after a different artist. Some of the furnishings were antique and whimsical, a definite plus for us. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom small but clean. The common areas are very impressive, filled with antiques and art of all types. Although grand, these areas are likewise welcoming, and you are invited to make the entire inn your home. There is a gorgeous courtyard outside where they hold weddings, and it is a nice place to relax in the evening, or gather yourself before breakfast. Breakfasts were delicious and filling, and incorporated local cuisine, such as huevos rancheros with green chili. Linda and Jerry Lundeen, the proprietors, were very gracious when we decided to go to White Sands for an afternoon. They filled our travel mugs with coffee, refilled our water jugs, and gave us a whole container of orange juice to take with us. There is a plaque when you enter that says "Come as strangers, leave as friends." I truly feel that encapsulated our experience there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed there last year with a group of 8, and the Lundeen's were extremely gracious hosts. They worked with us before, during and after our stay to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. I recommend the Inn of the Arts to anyone planning to spend a few days in Las Cruces.

Room Tip: There is only one room with refrigerated air conditioning. If you're staying in the summer, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

For those who don't appreciate the romance and uniqueness of a 100 year old building, then this isn't the place for you. The negative comments by others may be their view of expecting a chain hotel with the smell of bleach! This is a unique and charming Inn and B&B. The host is there in the morning and then you have your time to relax and roam, or enjoy reading inside or outside on the beautiful patio. There is coffee in the kitchen, just like home. Plus, parking is in a courtyard and right outside the front door. The exterior door is coded and you can come and go as you wish. Take the time to enjoy history and art.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure and ask for a first floor room. Ask the person helping you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The house of Mr. Lundeen is very rich in works of art, collected over many years and he himself explained us. Our room was confortable and furnished with taste. Breakfast was extremely good ans we enjoyed the conversation with the other guests. The owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lundeen Inn of the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lundeen Inn of the Arts

Address: 618 S. Alameda Blvd, Las Cruces, NM 88005
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lundeen Inn of the Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lundeen Inn of the Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.