We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Clair Winery & Bistro

St. Clair Winery & Bistro
1720 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM
575-524-2408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 326 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: St Clair Winery & Bistro brings French country cuisine and award winning New Mexico wines to a comfortable bistro setting. Outdoor patios are also available, making your dining experience one-of-a-kind. Enjoy a glass of refreshing wine while you listen to live jazz music Wednesday through Sunday nights.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our dining experience at St. Clair was exceptional. The wines were exclusive, the food well prepared and presented in a lovely way and the serve staff were at the top of their game.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snellville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a great experience for lunch as we were traveling and stopped for lunch. The onion soup was fantastic, but if you are afraid of cheese, avoid the onion soup, cause there's a bunch in there. Bought some wine to bring home and it was wonderful, and was bought on just the recommendation. very nice place that seemed to attract many locals, which is always a good sign, I think.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great wine and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped in at St. Clair on our way through Las Cruces. First we sat at the bar and did a wine tasting. The winery has a large selection of wines, something for everyone and the server was very knowledgable and able to select great wine based on what we liked. After the tasting, we stayed for lunch. We got the portabello mushroom and bison deconstructed burger on a kale salad with a side of sweet potato fries. Being a vegetarian and a meat eater, it was the perfect dish and portion to split between the two of us. This was a fantastic little bistro and would definitely stop in here the next time were in town.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stick with Wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've heard it said that if you want a good steak go to a steak house...if you want good seafood go to a seafood house. My point is St. Clair is a winery that makes and sells good wine but their restaurant experience leaves a lot to be desired. The atmosphere was very nice but the service was not. Too many servers running around not really knowing what they're doing. Sort of the chicken with its head cut off. My wife ordered the rib eye steak which was tough. I ordered the sea bass with mashed potatoes and received a very small portion of frozen over cooked fish and got rice instead of the potatoes. I asked for a second glass of wine and received it when we were ready for the check. The wait staff do not take your plates when you are finished...instead they have buss boys going around with buss tubs like in Denny's or a NYC diner. They set the buss tub in the chair and when they pick it up they don't wipe the dirty wet spot from the chair. I noticed several people having to wait to be seated since their chair seats were dirty. All in all, this place needs to stick with wine making and leave the food service to someone such as De La Vega's Pecan Grill up the road who has a fine establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StClairBistro, Guest Relations Manager at St. Clair Winery & Bistro, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are sorry your dining experience did not meet your expectation. We are confident we can use this information to improve. If you can, please provide us with some further information; what date and time did you visit? At what temperature was your rib-eye cooked? Did a manager visit your table? Please send information to comments@stclairwinery.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Loved the variety of food and kudos to the chef! We had a spicy pasta and I love the idea that you could have a half order of pasta, as I get older I can't eat as much as I use to eat.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Clair Winery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to St. Clair Winery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Clair Winery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.