We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast

Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
15975 Highway 4, PO Box 255, Jemez Springs, NM 87025   |  
Hotel amenities
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed three nights and plan to return as often as possible. The rates are a little high, but we offset the cost by bringing our own food and only eating out for dinner-which is actually easier anyway with small children. I don't think the rooms have changed much from prior reviews and I was very happy with them when we arrived - two very nice bedrooms with queen size beds, full kitchen, living area with fireplace, nice bathroom and deck. Very private and comfortable. It is true there is not much storage for clothes/suitcases but it was not a huge deal for us. I would recommend taking your own DVDs -there's not much there espscially for children. There are a lot of games and books though but we mostly spent our time relaxing and building fires in the fireplace with the kids so they could roast marshmellows.

The breakfasts were served at the Highway 4 Cafe, which is owned by Bob, Leone's husband. They consist of breakfast burritos or waffles, but mostly pastries. We pretty much ate oatmeal and pastries (which are really, really good so I don't want it to sound like it's not) but I also don't want you to be surprised if you want a more traditional "fancy" breakfast like at many other b&bs. We liked it but by the third day we were a little tired of it and would have liked something else. Also note, Bob is closed on Mondays so we felt a little funny running up there when he's supposed to be closed and everything's pretty much turned off. We just picked up coffee and pastries and went back to the room to make our own breakfast that day.

We thoroughly enjoyed the simple peace and quiet of just hanging out together. We did go up to the Soda Dam, Valles Caldera and Bandilier in the mornings. We ate dinners at the Laughing Lizard (awesome!!!) Other than that, just enjoyed our nice little place for the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed in the Dragonfly Cottage for 4 nights and can highly recommend this self-catering cottage.Situated in the grounds of the owners' house (which also serves as a B & B),it is completely private with views over the red canyon cliffs to the rear. The river runs by at the bottom of the garden area. The very spacious accommodation consists of a large dining area and lounge (with comfy chairs and settee),patio door leading out to a huge decking area with garden furniture,fully equipped kitchen,2 double bedrooms(one with patio doors leading on to decking area) and bathroom with a double tub. There is no TV but a playback video is provided with a selection of video tapes. The furniture and fittings are all of a high standard and it is a lovely,peaceful place to stay. Good for visiting Bandolier Monument & hiking around McCauley Springs area.

  • Liked — Space and quiet
  • Disliked — No wardrobes or hanging space in bedrooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stayed at the Desert Willow for one evening this month, and we highly recommend it as a peaceful and relaxing getwaway in Jemez Springs. The breakfast is absolutely delicious (yogurt and fresh fruit smoothie followed by blue corn waffles with fresh blueberries, stawberries and peaches, fresh whipped cream, and fresh maple syrup; homemade cinnamon cake; coffee; grapefruit juice; etc.) and is by far the best B&B breakfast I've ever enjoyed. We actually booked when there was a mix-up with our reservation at another local inn and they called the Desert Willow to see if they could help out--we couldn't have been more pleased. Leon graciously agreed to take us in at the last minute, although she wasn't planning on taking guests that day, and even woke up extra early to prepare us a full breakfast before our early start to a day of hiking. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable, with nice linens. Our room's windows opened to the relaxing view (and sound) of the stream. Water and sodas are available all day, and truffles provided at night. We especially enjoyed sitting by the stream in the evening, surrounded by native and natural landscaping. We will definitely return to the Desert Willow when next in the area.

  • Liked — Hosts were very warm and inviting--scenery/views excellent.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

It's hard to imagine how a b and b experience could be more delicious than this. I stayed twice this summer and each time the hosts were as welcoming and helpful as could be, the breakfasts out of this world, the beds/linens oh-so- luxurious, and the setting as relaxing as you could want. Could not recommend it more highly. We stayed in the main house but the cottage is sweet as well. I plan on going back at least a few times a year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa fe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2005

At least once a year we go to this lovely, low-key B&B to enjoy unparalleled quietude, beautiful and unusual canyon sunrises and sunsets, the babbling Jemez River and Leon's amazing breakfasts. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed with everything you would want or need, including very comfortable beds, truffles, fruit and a refrigerator with drinks. The entire place is absolutely spotless as well. The gardens are gorgeous!! Our getaways to Desert Willow are always our most peaceful and easy-going weekends, and we are never let down.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2004

We stayed at the Dragonfly cottage with Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast, and it was great! Fully equipped cottage- very homey, comfortable beds, great location. Jemez Springs is a wonderful little town to explore. We hope to go back sometime again, and stay at the cottage for sure! Leone is a wonderful hostess. The fireplace was so fun to have- we built as many fires as possible! Spent lots of time on the back deck enjoying the high cliffs and the sound of the stream in the background. Recommend the Laughing Lizard Cafe- it is great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15975 Highway 4, PO Box 255, Jemez Springs, NM 87025
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Jemez Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Willow Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.