We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very short, very intense” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa
Save
You added Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
16445 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025 (Formerly Canon del Rio Riverside Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very short, very intense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The setting says it all: delicate, integrated, welcoming and warm. I pop into just for breakfast, a couple of years ago, and the whole charm of it all really captured me...so I had to come back, although for a really short stay. I'll be back pretty soon...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    38
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
181
34
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am in process of relocating to new mexico and found the beautiful village of Jemez Springs and found the most wonderful place to enhance my visit. Canon del Rio!!! This place really goes out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and at home, With he most beautiful setting,clean rooms and delicious breakfast you can not go wrong staying here. I plan on coming back to stay here again soon. Karen S.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very clean comfortable B&B. Breakfast was fantastic. Great local hikes, nice property along the river. Jemez is beautiful. Red rock like Sedona. Owners and workers couldn't have been nicer. This was a great stop off point on our trip from ABQ to SW Colorado

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

even (especially?) for the rain day that we spent simply relaxing at Canon del Rio - the massage experience, the most amazing breakfast - and, in our case, waking up to French speaking guests each morning gave it a Southwest, euro-flair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only spent one night but this place can't be beat. Totally relaxing. Beautiful pool area, beautiful grounds and a nice, friendly staff and ownership. The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had. The surrounding area and the view from the pool was sublime. We even saw shooting stars at night. Being from the East coast, I will travel all the way to New Mexico again just for this place. If you travel to New Mexico, Canon del Rio is a can't miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had such an amazing time at Canon del Rio. I had pretty high expectations (having made the 7 hour drive from Denver) and they were all exceeded. The hospitality was unbelievable, the breakfasts were inspired and delicious and the ambiance was amazing. We will be making this a annual vacation stop!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We hit this spot by accident, cause I looked for a place to stay between Wilmington and Santa Fe. But it was awesome, so sad we could only stay for one night. The owners of Canon del Rio have created a lovely spot, a garden of eden, in a very nice area of NM. The excellent breakfast was together at one table, what inspired great conservations and tips between guests about what to do. They have a pool and jacuzzi and you can walk to a little stream nearby. The rooms are excellent too; wonderfully furnished according to a theme. And to sit at your doorstep, with all those lovely hummingbirds nearby, is a treat. When I'm in the area next time, I'll definetly book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa

Address: 16445 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025 (Formerly Canon del Rio Riverside Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adobe Inn is set in one of the most picturesque areas of the Jemez Valley. We have six rooms with baths that open to a courtyard with a meditative fountain, hot tub and the most beautiful pool. We offer a wonderful gourmet breakfast as well as a day spa, fishing, art gallery and a six-acre garden. There are many wonderful hiking paths here in Jemez Springs with wonderful scenic views. We have added a day spa with spa treatments and massage, outdoor heated pool with romantic gardens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.