We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Lodge
Save Saved
You added Elk Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend staying with Robin and Garth at the Elk Mountain Lodge. Warm welcome to friendly good the stay was fantastic. We stayed in the Santa Fe room. Comfy bed, nice heated floors, room to relax. Protected from the wind we enjoyed an afternoon cocktail in the winter sun on the deck. We were treated to a hearty bowl of oatmeal before going off for our hike. What a lovely place to spend the weekend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
DayTripper5626,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back again soon - we really enjoyed the time we had visiting with you at breakfast. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hosts really care about their facility and guests. Great place to escape to. You'll want to plan ahead: there is no grocery story for MILES, so bring what you want to have with you. Jemez Springs in about 8 miles to the South, and is worth an hour looking at the distinctly quaint (and surprisingly inexpensive) galleries. There is a natural, undeveloped hot spring in Chama within a mile of EML, and the lodge provides towels. Worth every nickel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Andrew M.,
Thank you so much of taking the time to review the Elk Mountain Lodge! We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back again soon - perhaps this summer?
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week and had a fabulous time. It was so peaceful and pleasant. We stayed in the Santa Fe room, and it was perfect. We hiked in the Caldera and Bandelier and visited the science museum in Los Alamos. Garth, Robin and Terry made our visit so nice. It was a great getaway.

Room Tip: The Santa Fe room was nice and cozy, with everything we needed. The Royal Aspen is expansive and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dennis V,
Thank you for your tripadvisor review of the Elk Mountain Lodge! We are so pleased your stay was relaxing and tranquil. We hope to see you back again soon!
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I and our 2 German Shepherds stayed in the Tall Pines Cabin and it was wonderful. We were toasty warm even though it was cold outside. We took advantage of the hot tub and it was heavenly sitting in the hot tub under the stars. The location was great, and we did day hikes to the Caldera area. We'd love to go back again. Breakfast burritos were very good, and the hosts were very attentive and made sure we were happy. We were thrilled that they accepted pets, and I think their pet policy is very fair. I hiked to the top of the mountain behind the cabin and it sure is steep! Thank you!

Room Tip: We liked the Tall Pines Cabin because of the hot tub on the deck. The master bedroom also has a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
BarbT01,
Thank you very much for reviewing us here at the Elk Mountain Lodge! I assure you, the pleasure was all ours. We would love to have you back again sometime… hopefully soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolute fantastic stay here. The cabin exceeded our expectations, the surrounding area was so beautiful. Breakfasts and personal attention to all or our needs left nothing to be desired. Only problem, we didn't stay here long enough. This was a slice of paradise in one of most majestic areas of the US, thank you,

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Kmfischer,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review! We hope to see you back again sometime soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved every minute of it! Robin, Garth, Gracie, and Cody couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming! The amazing breakfast burritos, fishing tips, and Cody's escorts from our cabin to the main lodge made it a trip we won't ever forget. Not only was our cabin (Ponderosa) beautiful, clean, and cozy, so was every aspect of Jemez Springs. There's tons to do and lots of trout to catch! We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Bethany W.
Thanks so much for your visit. We are very pleased to know that your experience was everything and more that you hoped for. We look forward to your return! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I recently surprised my fiance for our anniversary by taking her to the Elk Mountain Lodge for an overnight trip in the Jemez. We stayed in the Tall Pines Cabin.

When we arrived my fiance was very surprised. She knew we were going to a cabin but she didn't know where or what kind. When she saw the cabin she told me I outdid myself, and both of us were very impressed with how nice the cabin was. The main bedroom is cozy and has warm blankets, and the hot tub was incredible, especially since it was a nippy night. We grilled burgers and cooked chili over the fire.

The hosts are very nice, and they have the most adorable dogs. One of them, Cody I'm pretty sure, made us his best friends because we were cooking and roasting marshmallows outdoors. The flat screen TV has nice picture, and was much more impressive than the typical TV set up in cabins. The breakfast was really tasty, and came with a lot of options.

This property and the cabin we stayed in are incredibly nice and cozy. It makes a great get away for someone who lives nearby in Albuquerque looking to get out for a weekend, or someone driving through the area looking for somewhere quaint to stay. We definitely plan on making a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: Our cabin did not have a stove, and I'm pretty sure none of them do, so if you plan on cooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Natejitsu,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased that your stay was enjoyable. Please refer your friends! We look forward to your return and promised to provide you with another wonderful experience!
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Mountain Lodge is a custom built bed and breakfast with all the modern amenities. With beautiful, massive flagstones on radiant heated floors, log walls and high knotty pine ceilings, we combine rustic elegance and comfort to assure you a pleasant, restful stay in the majestic, Jemez Mountains. Rivers, trees and wildlife abound combined with panoramic and breath taking views. Everything you love to do is just minutes away. You’ll love our warm, friendly atmosphere.Elk Mountain Lodge offers five beautifully appointed mountain suites, each with private entrances and personal Jacuzzi tub. Every suite will wrap you in that cozy rustic mountain feel that warms the heart and soothes the mind.The main lodge itself includes a beautiful rustic, vaulted beam great room with WiFi, wood burning stove, large screen satellite TV, and comfortable lounge furniture. There is a large dining table where we will serve you a delicious hearty breakfast for a wonderful start to your day. Soothing music is often heard throughout the main Lodge in an effort to take the edge off your busy life schedule. Up here, you’re on “Jemez Time”!The front deck is part of the large outdoor common area. Here you find a BBQ, a wood burning iron kiva, patio furniture, beautiful views of the pinnacle rocks, the Jemez River down below, and quaint grassy meadows of the La Cueva area. On summer evenings, we all usually congregate to the back lodge area for a campfire, soothing guitar music and a glass of your favorite libation (BYOB, we’ve got the guitar!). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.