We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An uneven experience - good news, bad news” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Lodge
37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jemez Springs
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An uneven experience - good news, bad news”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I chose this lodge because of the rave reviews on TA. We rented the one bedroom Country Lace for ourselves and two bedroom Tall Pines cabiin for my kids and grandkids (family of four). The first, and biggest problem was that our granddaughter, aged 7, cut her foot on something (glass?) in the hot tub during the late afternoon. Terry (owner), who was otherwise very accommodating, seemed pretty blase about this and said "I guess you just need to sit still in there." He didn't really propose any resolution/solution, so we didn't feel comfortable using the hot tub in the evening as we had planned. Second, the kitchen in the cabin is really sub-par compared to similar accommodations at other New Mexico lodges we've stayed at in this price range - very small, a few dishes (two plates), pots, serving tools, and a tiny refrigerator. We did borrow a salad bowl, and Terry offered spices (salt and pepper were provided along with tea and coffee, packaged cookies). So, if you are planning on preparing a real meal (which we did), it won't be easy. The BBQ grill had a leak, but it was quickly repaired. Also a major flaw is that this unit has NO SINK in the tiny bathroom (toilet/shower) so facewashing and toothbrushing must be done at the kitchen sink. The second bedroom is tiny with a smallish double bed.The large bedroom/family room in the cabin is very nice, however.

Country Lace is nice, well out-fitted and on the cute/funky side. The other reviewers pointed out the positive features. The homemade breakfast burritos are first-rate and the continental breakfast is fairly varied. Some yogurt would be a nice addition. Cody, the big dog mentioned in other reviews, is friendly and shouldn't scare anyone.

I did find a hair on the pillow sham, and also on the negative side, there are cigarette butts everywhere (including the firepit on both decks)- kinda gross and not good for young kids to see.

Room Tip: Avoid Tall Pines Cabin if you like to cook and want a decent bathroom. Country Lace is great for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I did a little weekend getaway to the Jemez, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the Lodge! Our room was really great (Country Lace), especially the mini-fridge, microwave, and (of course) the 2-person Jacuzzi tub! We also loved that Terry lets guests use the gas grill on the deck, and his 'famous homemade green chili breakfast burritos' made it so we didn't have to find a restaurant for my husband to eat a real breakfast (usually, hotel breakfasts just aren't enough food for him, but Terry's burritos were great!). I particularly appreciated that Terry seemed to innately know when we wanted to chat and be social, and when we just wanted to go to our room and crash. It was the perfect combination of a personal touch and comfortable privacy. (Oh, and Terry's dog Cody was a sweetie! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I loved my stay at Elk Mountain Lodge! I rented the Country Lace cabin and it was wonderful! It was very quiet and the mountain breeze was cool and refreshing. It is located about an hour and a half from Albuquerque, which makes it easy to enjoy a weekend get away. Terry, the owner was quite helpful and made sure everything was to my liking. His canine companion, Cody was the official greeter. The Country Lace does not have a kitchen area, however it has a small fridge and microwave. In the morning,Terry made his "FAMOUS" breakfast burritos and I must say they were GRADE A !I If breakfast burritos are not your fave, then he has a continental breakfast for you to partake. I definintely plan on returning to this magnificent place and spending more than just a weekend there.

Room Tip: The Country Lace is for one or two people only. There are other cabins to fit your needs if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We enjoyed having you just as much as you enjoyed your stay! We're very pleased to have made a new friend. Thank you and we do hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place was fantastic. All the cabins are built by the owner who greets you and feeds you breakfast. The giant dog Cody is your friend for the weekend. The amenities inside the cabins are hard to beat. A giant Whirlpool tub, comfortable bed, and all the satellite TV you could ever want. Although for us there was little reason to even turn on the TV because we were in the area to play outside. There is was a small spare bed in our cabin on the other side of a wall. The vaulted ceilings and giant windows also contributed to the overall ambiance.

Room Tip: We were in the Ponderosa Cabin but the Owner was extremely helpful in choosing the right cabin as ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Michael_Hammer_21,
We appreciate your rating us on Tripadvisor! Glad to meet you and hope your journey home was a safe one. Hope to see you back someday! The Staff at Elk Mountain Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had an awesome time there, it was beautiful and very easy to find! The people were great and we adored Cody!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Kristan B,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor! We're so glad you had a great time. We would love to see you back sometime soon and will always be willing to go the extra mile if you have any special requests! The staff at Elk Mountain Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I spent one night here and had a lovely time. It was easy to make a reservation the same week I stayed. The owner was friendly and welcoming and cooked up some good breakfast burritos, along with offering other continental breakfast options. It was enjoyable eating breakfast with the other guests in the main house. The wooden interior of the room was beautiful and I definitely took advantage of the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It's not far from the village of Jemez Springs but it feels like you're a world away from the bustling town. There are hammocks around the property and the resident dog was a happy addition. The price was reasonable. I would definitely stay here again the next time I take an overnight getaway from Albuquerque.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Quietjudger, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B! We Hope to see you back soon. If we can help make your next stay even more special, please don't hesitate to call us!
Terry, Garth & Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The owner of the lodge is beyond nice. He is also a wealth of information on the surrounding area. He also tells you "you won't need anything" and it was true. He supplied firewood, a grill and cookingware, and so much more. If you're looking for a romantic get-away, look no further. Also, say hello to his very-affectionate, very-large dog, Cody.

Room Tip: Country Lace is a good value and is still a decent size for 2. The Royal Aspen was DEFINITELY the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Adam, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a "thumbs up"! We try very hard to help our guest become returning "friends". We would be honored to have you plan another stay with us in the future. Thanks again from all the staff at Elk Mountain Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Jemez Springs
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Mountain Lodge is a custom built bed and breakfast with all the modern amenities. With beautiful, massive flagstones on radiant heated floors, log walls and high knotty pine ceilings, we combine rustic elegance and comfort to assure you a pleasant, restful stay in the majestic, Jemez Mountains. Rivers, trees and wildlife abound combined with panoramic and breath taking views. Everything you love to do is just minutes away. You’ll love our warm, friendly atmosphere.Elk Mountain Lodge offers five beautifully appointed mountain suites, each with private entrances and personal Jacuzzi tub. Every suite will wrap you in that cozy rustic mountain feel that warms the heart and soothes the mind.The main lodge itself includes a beautiful rustic, vaulted beam great room with WiFi, wood burning stove, large screen satellite TV, and comfortable lounge furniture. There is a large dining table where we will serve you a delicious hearty breakfast for a wonderful start to your day. Soothing music is often heard throughout the main Lodge in an effort to take the edge off your busy life schedule. Up here, you’re on “Jemez Time”!The front deck is part of the large outdoor common area. Here you find a BBQ, a wood burning iron kiva, patio furniture, beautiful views of the pinnacle rocks, the Jemez River down below, and quaint grassy meadows of the La Cueva area. On summer evenings, we all usually congregate to the back lodge area for a campfire, soothing guitar music and a glass of your favorite libation (BYOB, we’ve got the guitar!). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elk Mountain Lodge to your Saves list