We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Lizard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laughing Lizard Inn
Save
You added Laughing Lizard Inn to your Saves list
17526 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025   |  
Hotel amenities
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Quaint and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Ok so the place is a little run down and the mattresses on the beds have seen better days but the Laughing Lizard is so quaint New Mexico. They have a great restaurant and a very helpful staff. The rooms have lots of books to read. Good place for a romantic getaway without paying Santa Fe prices.

  • Liked — home like atmosphere
  • Disliked — bad mattress
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

The Laughing Lizard is the most memorable and charming place that we have ever stayed! Tucked away in the quiet, little town of Jemez Springs, the rooms look across to a steep canyon wall. We sat on the front porch and breathed in the quiet. We've been home for a week, but the peaceful memories linger.
The restaurant gets a top rating, too. The spinach-sweetpotato salad was the best I have ever had. The homemade pizza was great, too. The service is so friendly. I would be very happy to travel the 2,000+ miles to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2005

The food is creative, delicious and entirely homemade, including their long list of decadent desserts! Espresso, beer and wine served with a smile. Prices entirely reasonable. The motel rooms are simple, clean and comfortable, not to mention the least expensive in the area. They even stock their rooms with books! This fun-loving place in the beautiful mountains of northern NM is a destination experience!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland/New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2004

This amazing little restaurant is staffed by the most humorous, friendly people who are only too willing to explain exactly what you are about to stuff down your throat.

The cuisine is excellent, and the banter between the staff and between the customers makes for one of the most relaxed and enjoyable evenings I have ever experienced.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2004

My sister, mom and I stayed here a few years ago and I still think of it often. The people were so nice, the room was like home and the food was awesome! The drive to the Laughing Lizard was absolutely beautiful (we were there in the fall). It was a great experience staying in this little, quiet town. I love the slower, peaceful way of life here and long for it now that I'm back in the city. I highly recommend this place to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2004

This place has only 4 rooms, and doesn't look like much from the outside, but the inside is delightful. Hand-painted walls with decorations, nice room and bedding, nice bathroom, very comfortable and amazingly quiet. Their cafe is wonderful with good, strong coffee, and the owner is helpful and charming, and of course friendly.
Wonderful visit, definitely to be repeated- we're hoping to go there again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laughing Lizard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Lizard Inn

Address: 17526 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jemez Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laughing Lizard Inn is a perfect weekend get-away spot located in the heart of the beautiful Jemez mountains, an easy drive from Albuquerque or Santa Fe.The four-room inn offers front porch views of surrounding mesa walls. Perfect for sunset watching. Rooms are hand-decorated with queen size beds, private bath and simple mountain charm. Located next to locally owned bakery and coffee shop. Free wifi available to guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Lizard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.