We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little park but not enough camping spots!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenton Lake State Park

Fenton Lake State Park
455 Fenton Lake Rd., Jemez Springs, NM
505-829-3630
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 16 attractions in Jemez Springs
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Farmington, NM
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Neat little park but not enough camping spots!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

With the news saying this and other areas nearby were open again because the fires were out, we showed up at 6:30 PM on a Friday night, whoops, campground full! Had to camp at the nearby Jemez Falls Campground instead.

Came back Saturday morning, even then all the campsites were full and we had to drive around for an hour before finding site 2 available. There's a nice playground around the middle of the park that is sure to please the kids!

The lake itself is for fishing only, and it was packed with people! There's a very nice 1 mile hiking trail that follows the river (stream?).

The campsites were a bit rundown, the picnic tables have seen better days. We were pleasantly surprised when our fellow campers abided by the 10 PM quiet time.

There really needs to be more camp sites, considering how close this park is to Albuquerque and Santa Fe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A cool relief from the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fenton Lake was unexpected. It was prettier and cooler than I had imagined. The winding road up to the lake was pretty as well. After being in Albuquerque for a month during the heat wave, it was a refreshing break to get out of the desert and the city. It was in the 50's when we arrived early in the morning but by 10am it was warming up quickly. There are a lot of signs of what not to do, I guess it's to protect the wildlife and the lake which is good for fishing but no swimming is allowed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Delight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We live in ABQ and drive up here for a day of fishing, or just a lollygagging picnic. We bring friends, or come alone, or I camp alone, or camp with grandkids . . . either way we enjoy our stay every time. Sounds to me like some of the other reviewers did something stupid and expected the Rangers to go along with it. Don't do the same. The rules are no different than any other place and neither is the enforcement. The renegade spirit runs roughshod over this state sometimes; just got to use some good sense and you'll be fine. I love Fenton because you can catch fish all day long. There are good spots around the lake, and there are better spots. It's up to you to find them. You'll enjoy your time here regardless. Camping is beautiful, but be sure to bring cots, or some extra good padding to sleep on because there are lots of uneven areas, and chunky sized rocks that can give a hip a fit! Campsites 1, 2 & 3 have the added benefit of a lovely stream that winds through them. River otters and beaver bounce around in the streams in the evening and early morning to the delight of anyone who happens to be awake enough to enjoy them. I suppose there are a few fish in that stream, but not often. There could be a deep hole from time to time, but you'd have to want to follow the stream for some while before finding one. There's a nice wide stream coming out of the dam that feeds into a couple of lakes built by beavers, before getting to campsite #1. It can all be so glorious when the weeds are high and the wildflowers are abundant. Be smart about storing your food at night. The raccoons have figured out how to open just about everything, but they haven't mastered the bungee cord. Watch out for bears and mountain cats.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location, not nice ranger”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We showed up late to camp. The entire campground was empty. Our tent site was covered in ice so we spread out a little bit. One vehicle, two tents. The next morning the ranger showed up and charged us for 3 sites! He said we were occupying three different sites. Unbelievable. I guess we were helping Him meet his quota for the weekend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“parking fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

recently my friend and I went fishing at fenton lake. We paid our parking fee of $5.oo for the VAN we went on. Later in the day, the park ranger gave us a citation for not paying a $15.00 fee required for a BUS as noted on the entrance parking fee notice. We tried to explain to theindivual officer that our van was not a BUS but a van. Looks that this fellow does not know the differance between a VAN a BUS.Educate this fellow on the differnce or change the fee sign to include the fee for vans. Vans are of different sizes and can be the size of a SUV or a truck.
Anyway, fishing was good that day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenton Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fenton Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenton Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fenton Lake State Park to your Saves list