We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Hobbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxony Steakhouse

Saxony Steakhouse
501 N. Marland, Hobbs, NM 88240
(575) 397-3251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Hobbs
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Angelo, Tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Hobbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is by far the best food I have had in Hobbs! I have had steaks/appetizers/desserts and definitely not been disappointed! Most flavorful food I have found in Hobbs (which most restaurants lack)

Great Staff!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Steaks are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A limited menu, but the steaks are the best in Hobbs. The place is small, and on some nights the place is packed, so you should plan on making a reservation. Location is inside a family-owned Motel on the South-East side of Hobbs. So it might take a few minutes (20 minutes) to get here from the better hotels located on the North-West side of town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great place to go for a quiet dinner. Food is wonderful! Service is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The real West Texas (even if it's in New Mexico)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

You wouldn't know about the Saxony Room except by word of mouth (or TripAdvisor) -- it's hidden in an unremarkable hotel on the highway. When you step inside, the first thing you see, hear and smell is the grill cooking the steaks. The menu has a few pages, but there's really no point ordering anything but the steak. It's served with salad and a side, all for $20-$25, which is a very fair price. We ate the ribeye, and it was perfectly prepared. Reservations are necessary for the dining room, but the real fun is in the bar, where there's country music and dancing on Friday and Saturday nights. (I haven't seen that many cowboy hats in one place in years!) The Saxony Room is the real deal and the real Hobbs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

When we arrived in Hobbs we were dismayed at the poor choice of restaurants. We visited Trip Advisor and noticed this Steak House. What a find! We called for a reservation and the restaurant was full when we arrived. Based on our waitresses recommendation we had the ribeye steak. It was very flavorful and came with salad or soup, rolls, fried onion ring garnish and either a vegetable or potato. We opted for asparagus (wonderful) and grilled squash. Everything we had was wonderful. The portions are large and very fairly priced. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive!!! If you get to Hobbs try this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saxony Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Saxony Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxony Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.