We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, secluded, incredibly quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casitas de Gila Guesthouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Save
You added Casitas de Gila Guesthouses to your Saves list
50 Casita Flats Road (off Hooker Loop), Gila, NM 88038   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gila B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Romantic, secluded, incredibly quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It seems like we relax here in a way that it hard to do elsewhere. The access to the natural world is extraordinary, and the quiet here makes me realize how noisy the everyday world is. The casitas are beautifully decorated and maintained, and are stocked with everything you could need. We brought food in with us and cooked simple meals, and didn't leave the property except to hike. Michael did a "star tour" for us on a moonless night. How incredible to see the rings of Jupiter and look at the Andromeda galaxy! thank you; we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed with our 5th grader for 3 nights in November. It was a completely unique experience. Arriving at the property at dusk, we were treated to an amazing view/sunset. It was great to get our family away from computers/video games for a few days and out exploring nature. We took walks, visited the dogs/horses, chatted a lot with the owner(Michael), panned for gold, and just relaxed. Michael knew we were interested in star-gazing so one clear night, he gave us a private tour of the skies from outside his home. This was like a VIP, once-in-a-lifetime experience that he gave us for free just because he's a nice guy. While I do recommend this place for famliies with older kids, I would not suggest it for little ones. There are too many hazards outside(cliffs/cactus/snakes/etc) and not much for them to do indoors (while trying to keep them from disturbing the other guests....sooo quiet here). I agree with what others said, definitely stop on your way in and pick up some food. We used our smart phone to locate a Pizza Hut and brought pizza/Coke to the casita for dinner and leftovers the next day. You definitely won't want to have to head back out the same day you get there...it was way too remote and enticing. We will return and have already recommended it to our friends. If you want to see a dark starry sky, email the owners ahead of time to find out the best days to visit/moon cycles. Thank you Becky & Michael! (PS We also visited the alien attractions in Roswell and the White Sands National Monument. It was a fantastic family vacation - recommend all).

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We keep returning here because we love it - and travel 5000 miles to do so from the UK. Michael and Becky are the perfect hosts, they are around when you want them, not when you don't. The Casitas are immaculate and superbly maintained and unlike some places where all that is available as foodstuffs is what others have left behind, there is always fresh milk, juice, home made cake waiting for you when you arrive. Read the other reviews, you will rarely find one that doesn't rave about this place.
Peace, quiet, no TV (but there is good wifi) and fabulous views by both day and night.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, try to get one of the outer Casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom casita for one night, which was not long enough. The Casitas are set on a gorgeous property with plenty of hiking trails. At night you can see soooo many stars. There's a hot tub on site that is great for star gazing on cool nights.

The casita was very nice - modern, clean and classy. I especially enjoyed the fire place and the cozy bed. The kitchen is stocked with basic items (spices, condiments, coffee, tea and continental-type breakfast foods). The homemade pumpkin bread was delicious! I recommend stopping for groceries in Silver City since there aren't any restaurants close to the Casitas. Each casita has a grill you can use.

The Casitas are a perfect escape from a busy life. The peaceful surroundings and lack of a tv force you to relax!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is such an incredible and unique spot, if you are looking for peace, dark starry skies and plenty of time to look at nature. The casitas are all lovely, and you can choose whether to go on some of the many trails that Michael and Becky, the owners, will tell you about, or just sit and stare at the mountain, with maybe a walk down to Bear Creek, which is our favorite pastime. You will need to stock up on additional food items to add to the basic four breakfasts that are supplied. Once you are there, you won't want to leave! If renting a car, we recommend you make sure it has tires that are suitable for the pretty rough dirt road to the Casitas. Silver City is worth a day out, to look at the art galleries, the museum, and to eat at Diane's restaurant. If you go when the moon is at its darkest, Michael may be persuaded to bring out his fabulous telescope and give you a look at the stars. It is a two-day trip for us to get here, but well worth it.

Room Tip: If you come here on a second or third visit, my advice is to get a different casita each time! If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our time here, had hummingbirds all around us as we sat on the patio. Had a little trouble finding the dirt road to the Casitas, but once we arrived found it very relaxing and a great break from living in Chicagoland. We ate in twice, and Becky arranged for some really first class chicken for us to put onto the grill. Silver City is a good 30 minutes away so make sure you stock up on food and gas. Michael provided some tips on great hiking trails in the area and we were never disappointed. A wonderful experience. We didn't want to come back..

Room Tip: Casita #5 has a hummingbird feeder which really brings them in!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was the second time we had stayed at the casitas. Thinking back to the first time and an anxious trip in, we hired an SUV to travel along the gravel road but somehow it had improved since last time.
We stayed in the Casita de los Pajaros this time. Everything was just as we remembered, the warm welcome, well stocked breakfast cupboard and fridge and the complete peace and quiet of the Gila Wilderness. This was, once again, the perfect end to an action packed three weeks vacation, a chance to unwind and enjoy the silence, the beating of the hummingbirds' wings, the antics of the chipmunks and of course the glorious sunsets which change colour by the second. I couldn't wait to post my photos of those spectacular sunsets so that my friends could see them too. We didn't have the starry skies on this occasion but did have the thunder and lightning and a little of the rain the area so badly needs.
One trip out to the Gila Cliff Dwellings and the rest of the time to relax and read and just enjoy each others company and of course the delightful gallery at the casitas full of local crafts and art. I would have loved one of the fantastic birdhouses but, unfortunately, it wouldn't have fitted in my suitcase.
Then of course, the long drive back to Albuquerque, somehow not quite so bad now that we were relaxed. Well done Becky and Michael, it's paradise on earth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casitas de Gila Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas de Gila Guesthouses

Address: 50 Casita Flats Road (off Hooker Loop), Gila, NM 88038
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stress-Free Zone in Southwest New Mexico, featuring southwestern guesthouses, art gallery, and nature preserve on 265 acres overlooking the Gila Wilderness in Southwest New Mexico, in the Silver City area. Our 5 casitas each have full kitchens, fireplaces, continental breakfast, free wifi, bbq grills, porches. Hike over 6 miles of trails on our property, nap in a hammock by Bear Creek, view the Milky Way in the clear, dark skies. Visit cliff dwellings, ghost towns, galleries and museums. We're one of Sunset Magazine's Top 10 Weekend Getaways! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casitas de Gila Guesthouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.