We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Gallup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Gallup to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Gallup
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Stopped over for one night while on a road trip; good experience, fine stay, keep your expectations in line with a sub-$50 room. Called ahead and made a reservation for a late show and had no issues on check in. Room was quiet, clean, and eminently habitable. TV and wireless worked as one would expect. Skipped the cont. breakfast, as I wanted to revisit the Ranch Kitchen down the road. No issues checking out, service was fine. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    63
    24
    17
See reviews for
43
94
28
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Somewhat upgraded basic hotel. Comfortable bed, good pillows, reasonable furniture. More quiet than other places in Gallup (away from very active railroad). Minimal breakfast, but so was the price. Good for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Clean and comfortable, free wireless and computer in lobby too. Close to freeway. Good price at $40. Basic breakfast. Inner court rooms are probably quieter as I didn't experience noise...except for the midnight phone call that woke me up.....a woman asked me who I was and I asked her who she was calling, she said she was looking for her daughter E****, I told her "wrong room" and hung up. I hope she found her.

  • Liked — Convienient location from interstate travel
  • Disliked — The plastic wrapped fake blueberry muffin.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night in October, 2008. We'd booked on the internet but ended up getting a cheaper price when we arrived. Our room had QS bed; table & 2 chairs; microwave; and fridge. The ad said "recently remodelled" and the room was very clean; bed comfortable; and had individual air-conditioning. It also had an outdoor pool but due to the time of year it was closed. A continental breakfast was included. The hotel is close to the railway line and interstate but our room was very quiet. They also have highspeed internet, but we didn't use it. The hotel was pretty sterile but we thought it was OK. Would I stay there and recommend it - Yes - we've stayed in worse - much worse!! I can recommend the local hospital as I was sick when we arrived. Went to the hospital and go the very best treatment - wonderful nurse and doctor in ER.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We arrived in Gallup intending to stay at the Microtel next door, but the guy on reception was really quite rude and unfriendly so we booked in at the Red Roof. The roof was fine, large and very clean but be warned, the walls are so thin you can hear every movement from the surrounding rooms, either side and above.
It is located just off the I-40 and frequented by truck drivers(absolutely no problem) but these guys do get up very early, and I mean early.
Noise apart, the place is fine. The staff are friendly and there is a continental breakfast. It is an ideal stopping off place for anyone on a road trip, as we were.

  • Liked — Near the I-40
  • Disliked — The thin walls
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We were on our road trip from California to Chicago and we checked in at about 10pm. The room was decent. They didn't charge extra for pet as we had our dog with us. We had a very quiet night and a good night sleep. Breakfast was scarce, mini blueberry muffin, stale Raisin Brans, Coffee, Orange and cranberry juice. That's it. Overall, okay for overnighting while on a long trip for the price we paid with pet.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Firstly, it took us nearly 15 minutes to check in. On a busy Friday night there was only 1 clerk working.
The room was ok... but clearly the card keys worked on more than one door since someone was able to get into our room (thankfully I'd double locked it, otherwise we'd have had uninvited midnight guests)!
I called the front desk only to have the manager respond and tell me that the locks are not guaranteed!
Initially we were placed into a ground floor room. Thankfully we were able to switch to second floor accomodations. That didn't quell the noise from the pool though, which continued well into the middle of the night.

  • Disliked — Locks that weren't secure
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gallup

Address: 3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gallup Hotel Gallup
Gallup Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.