We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Little Red Roof Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Gallup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Gallup to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Gallup
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Little Red Roof Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here after an ice storm prompted me to pull off the highway for the night. The young woman behind the front desk was friendly and down-to-earth, the rates reasonable, and the room (a queen bed) was clean with a great, clever set-up for a small space.

Another bonus feature -- you can open the windows to get a fresh exchange of air in the room -- not something to be taken for granted. (Windows at at many higher-end properties cannot be opened, as we know. And many of these properties suffer from sick-building syndrome, leaving guests feeling ever-so-fatigued in the stale air like that of a long flight.)

My only suggestion? "Red Roof Inn Cleans Green". Switch over to non-chemical, natural cleaning products (studies show they're more effective -- and less expensive -- at killing germs, bacteria, mold and dirt) and dump the chemical cleaners that are a big health-hazard for folks with allergies and asthma -- an estimated 30% of today's population.

Not only will you make your guests more comfortable, it's good for business. Did you know occupancy rates are off the charts at upscale, expensive hotels offering "allergy-friendly" "pure rooms", as they're called.

So yeah, Red Roof Inn, lead the budget-hotel pack and offer "Live Like a Billionaire, Stay on a Budget Book Your Pure-Green Room at Red Roof Inn". I'll be there!

Bottom line: Great stay, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We always appreciate suggestions for improving our property so that our guests feel more comfortable. Thank you for your taking the time to make your valuable suggestions known to us. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    63
    24
    17
See reviews for
43
94
28
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northeast Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. We checked in late and had booked through orbitz. The front desk gal seemed a little annoyed about that and kept muttering about them only getting paid $35 for a room. She tried to convince me I was getting ripped off by orbitz by not booking directly w/ them, but the price she said we would have gotten was at least $10 more than we'd paid!? Oh well, that being said, the rooms were in good shape and clean. The outside looks tired. The continental breakfast was a little weak with make your own waffles, 2 dry cereal options plus oatmeal, apples, small blueberry muffins, orange juice, apple juice and coffee. Seating was very limited with only space for maybe 6-8 (2 tables) and a love seat in the lobby. If you are on the 2nd level the cleaning carts shake the floors and sound like jet planes flying over as they race back and forth in the morning (annoying). The pool didn't have the snow cleaned off of it and we were unable to use it. (joking) Overall it was a good value and we would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are always working to improve, so we will use your comments to try and do so. I hope you are able to see for yourself that we are always improving the next time you come through Gallup. If you let us know in advance that you are coming, we will order sunny weather so you can use the swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel was clean, but the bathroom needs some attention. There was mildew around the tub. The bathroom fan turns on with the light and you cannot turn it off. There is free breakfast, but not much to choose from. The breakfast area is in the main lobby and is very small and to warm. Beds were not very comfortable. Wasn't horrible, but would pay a bit more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here in Gallup. I am sorry some features of our property were not to your satisfaction. We value your comments and will use them to make changes that will make your future stays with us more enjoyable. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Hill, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

One of the worst I've stayed at. It was first time I've stayed at red roof inn. Hoping this one was just old. I really didn't feel real safe. Clean enough, got in late so just slept and left. Did not eat there, don't know if even had a restaurant.

Room Tip: If just want a bed and don't care about frills or decor it was cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am so sorry you had a bad experience with us. We are always making improvements so we hope that you will give us another try in the near future. Thank you for taking some time out of your day to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were very impressed with everything about this motel. We had been staying at Motel 6 and Studio 6's on our trip across country and back and I was to the point that I was disgusted with staying in motels. We still had one night left on our trip and I didn't want to stay with the chain of motels we had been staying so I pulled up Tripadvisor and read all the reviews on this motel and thought we would give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised at how well kept the rooms are. The front office was nice and welcoming and the clerk was very pleasant. I thought the other chain was the only motel that allowed dogs but found out that the Red Roof Inn allows pets also. Woo Hoo, we will now be staying at Red Roof Inn's from now on. Red Roof Inn even has a continental Breakfast included in the price. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you're in need of a place to hang your hat for the night, this place will do. But I'd honestly never come here again. When we got to our room, one of the beds was mysteriously wet. The other bed had hair and the dirty imprint of a face on the pillow. The lady at the front desk was super nice about it, giving us fresh sheets, offering to put them on the bed for us, and giving us a 10% discount on the room. But by that point, I think the damage had been done. Couple all of that with the fact that it just didn't seem like that nice of a neighborhood, and well, you get back to my second sentence of this review.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the courtyard seemed to shield the noise from the highway pretty well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Older motel. Rough on outside. Room was clean in in excellent repair. Comfy bed, good wi fi, frig and microwave. Nice shower. Clean carpets. No problem with our small dog. Breakfast was simple but adequate. With waffles. Only problem was outlets. only 2! And the clock and bed light connected to them. Advise taking a plug with multi- outlets. Pillows were comfy but only half size. What's with that! Some train noise. No horns just the rumble of them going by.It was a lot for the money. Papa Johns delivers too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gallup

Address: 3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gallup Hotel Gallup
Gallup Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.