We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning food and staff was excellent ill definitely be back!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Gallup to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Morning food and staff was excellent ill definitely be back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My stay at the redlion was great. The morning staff was the best breakfast was amazing the cook came out and asked us how we were doing wich was very nice, the morning server made sure he did anything possible to make my wife and i were happy when she asked him for decaffeinated coffee he brought out a fresh cup specially for her! the food was amazing it was plated and fresh my family loved it not to mention i loved the music they were listening too! i made sure to get their names so there was no confusion . Fernando was the cook and shawn was the server they are very kind employees and i will definitely be back just because of them! Thanks for ur kind staff!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm very glad you enjoyed you stay we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    28
    21
    28
See reviews for
31
30
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deming, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Staying with my 91 year old mother in law and wife with 2 bad knees. Was told the only room was upstairs with no elevator. The room was not what I would expect from Red Lion, very mediocre. For breakfast the eggs were cold, the waffles were cold and hard. Order from room service of sandwiches took 1 hour to be delivered.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm sorry this has happened to you I will be looking into this right away!
please except my apologies for the poor service you had. again I'm so sorry
have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This place is a DUMP! Stay somewhere else.
1. Showed up at 1pm to see if rooms might be available. Front desk clerk said they might be but if we checked in prior to 3pm she had to charge an extra $25 per room. WHAT???? I have been traveling for 30 years and have never heard of that rule.
2. Checked in: lobby smelled like sewage coming from the men's room. Room was 100 degrees and a/c did not work. Phone did not work. Changed rooms. Phone still did not work. Both bathroom light fixtures missing covers. TV remote did not work. No ice or vending on my floor. No elevator.
I will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm sorry your stay was that bad here , I'm looking into the last few days and I'm not happy myself so things will change here real fast .
I'm sorry again ( but I will take of this) .have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I recently attended a graduation banquet for a nephew of mine at this hotel. The room was fine as were the facilities but the food served buffet style was inedible. Main courses were disgusting ham with some sort of glop they call glaze on top, chicken undercooked and potatoes and veggies had no taste whatsoever. I wandered the area and met a young, thin man who claimed to be the kitchen manager, this kid didn't seem that he could manage a bologne sandwich. Please guys hire some good, experienced kitchen staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine just don't eat here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
hello I'm Ryan I will be looking into this right away I don't understand why the food was like that .but I'll see what I can do ok
have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Univeristy Place
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Right off Route 66. Got it for a cheap rate off Expedia. Desk staff was friendly. Two people were really loud in the rear parking lot and the cops had to come remove them. Sounded like locals so that was kind of weird but not like it's the hotels fault. Room was very clean. Breakfast was very nice in a very nice room. Pool area was awesome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed you stay with us , hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel was a great buy. The room was clean and large. The breakfast included eggs, sausage, pancakes, assorted pastries, yogurt and fruit. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
thank you for your stay hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had issues checking in, used Hotwire, was told that since they didn't receive paper work yet they'd have to scan my id and credit card. Had to switch rooms twice due to fan/ac issues in one and the other being occupied. The hotel smelled of cleaner and chlorine in all of the halls and common areas. Breakfast was a small buffet of eggs, potatos, some pastries and fruit. my kids were disappointed they didn't have pancakes or waffles. When we checked out it took a half hour because their printers were down and somehow they had a mastercard on file when they photo copied my visa. They also tried to charge me for the room even though I paid via Hotwire when they were only suppose to charge me $15 for the pet fee. The front desk lady was flustered and unsure of how to handle the situation. I ended up having to leave my credit card number with her just so I could get on the road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for you stay sorry about the computers but everything is ok now come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museum as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 miles.The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs.Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse, Rookie's Sports Bar, meeting and banquet facilities totaling 9000 square feet, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium.The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.