We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get hotel East side of Gallup” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Gallup to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Scribner, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Get hotel East side of Gallup”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Old outdated hotel with a moldy, musty smell upon entering lobby area. Associates not professional but the lady who checked us in was kind. Location not ideal---west side of Gallup away from all the new business area. All hotels in this area seem older and this must have been another chain’s hotel who moved to the other side of Gallup and built new. Large inviting lobby area with eating establishment attached. Wings of the hotel are built around a central ‘court’ system where the pool is located and areas are rented out for events like parties. You might be given a room far, far away from the lobby area so be prepared when you reserve a room. First room I checked out had been used to wash hands or something as there was a used washcloth/soap on the counter. The rooms are very large and come stocked with a microwave/frig. Décor reminds me of some other hotel chain; but can’t remember which one. Carpeting is nice pattern but older and dirty especially in corners. They have tried to update with the bedding (bed skirt dirty) and the mattress was okay. Drapes nice combination with full floor to ceiling windows. Chair/ottoman very dirty. Furniture okay styling but showing nicks from wear and tear. Poor lighting for the size of the room but all worked fine. Managed with electrical outlets for charging electronics but could use more. Had problems keeping the WIFI working, TV small and old with limited channels. Bathroom fixtures old and tiling really shows dirt. One large counter with sink in bathroom area and 1 smaller version outside bath area which is nice for multiple people getting ready. Mirror so old the bottom is showing wear. This would not be a hotel that I would return to nor recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I am sorry you were not happy with our hotel. We try to make each guest feel welcome and safe. Our hotel is older than a lot of the hotels on the east end of Gallup, however, the price is also reflected, as all of the new hotels are more expensive and the rooms are not as large.

I appreciate your time in making comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    27
    21
    28
See reviews for
31
30
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gallup, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The roof in the atrium leaked, so the bride and groom brought in canopies - the couple took care of this, not the hotel. The guests didn't get wet, but the area was cold. After the ceremony, when people were seated for the meal, the bride, groom, attendants, and minister started off to sign the certificate - and were rather rudely stopped by a staff member who loudly discussed numbers of meals, lack of food in the kitchen, costs, etc.with the couple while the others looked on. The wedding was beautiful, but this is not a place anyone would really want to choose if the truth were known.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Yes we did have problems due to the snow that was in Gallup. They asked if they could use canopies and we said yes. There was too much ice on the roof, making it unsafe for maintenance to try and do anything with the problem.

The buffet was ready, with plenty of food. However, they asked for 4 more tables and 30 more people to eat. This was in addition to the number on the contract. That caused the problems with the food. We did offer to cook from the menu, which they agreed too. Our cooks prepared the plates and served the 39 persons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for a hotel/motel on Route 66 in Gallup and with many from which to choose, we selected the Red Lion as we have stayed at Red Lion Hotels before and were highly satisfied. However, this stay was below par compared to the others and it cost us $25.00 more than our previous stays this week. The person at the desk was not particularly friendly, and when I asked for a room on the first floor was told that there was only one available. (In the morning, we saw a mostly empty parking lot?!?) Some of the negatives - daily paper or USA Today was not free as in our five previous stays; breakfast was included with a hotel coupon, but the choices were slim compared to the large selection of free do it yourself breakfasts in our other stays and the utensils in the serving trays did not have heat proof handles, so I had to use my paper napkin to hold the serving utensil. The water faucet in one sink in our room barely ran the water when turned on. The skylight roof in the pool area leaked and there were buckets scattered around to collect the dripping water. The lighting was poor as we walked from our room to the lobby/restaurant area. On the plus side were the on site restaurant and comfortable beds. The free Internet is a given now and that worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your time and remarks. I have looked into the problems you noted, and made some changes. I am sorry about the leak in the Atrium, the snow in the area caused a delay in trying to make any emergency repairs. There was too much ice on the roof, creating a dangerous situation for maintenance.

I hope you will come again, as we are always updating the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rooms and beds were nice and comfortable. We did have an issue with our room but they moved us. It is near the train tracks but pretty well insulated from the noise, we had no problems sleeping. Large indoor pool and courtyard was great for the kids. We were part of a very large group of people so the we had a discounted rate. I would stay here again. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. When our guests leave the hotel happy and all of the employees are rewarded for the jobs they do on a daily basis. Again, thank you and have a safe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here because we were traveling with pets and the Red Lion is pet friendly. We arrived in the evening and received a very spacious, clean room that was quite adequate for our needs. We had a good nights' sleep and were able to be on our way early the next morning after eating at the breakfast buffet. The buffet was plentiful but basic. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you chose our hotel for your needs. We strive daily to improve and appreciate comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Ms
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Needed a clean overnight hotel between the Grand Canyon and Albuquerque & this hotel on Route 66 in Gallup was a good economical choice. The room was spacious and very clean. The walls were thin I believe because we could very much hear our neighbors! We had room service and it wasn't fantastic but it was pretty good and quick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from other visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for letting us be your resting place for the night. We are always happy when our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Customer service was great! The ladies at the front were friendly. I ask for a king size bed and they put me in a suite with one for the same price. Had a nice place to relax and have a drink! The lady at Rookies was also nice! Breakfast was hot and good. Well be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of updating our fitness center. We are aware that it is not at the place we want it to be for our guests. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Gallup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museum as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 miles.The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs.Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse, Rookie's Sports Bar, meeting and banquet facilities totaling 9000 square feet, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium.The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.