We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Gallup to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
South Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

During a family vacation out west, only one night was not pre-booked. We called Red Lion and a couple of other hotels when we got to town. Based on price and other reviews we picked the Red Lion. While it was obviously an older hotel, the room was quite clean and roomy. Breakfast was adequate, and my kids even enjoyed the pool before heading out.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    28
    21
    28
See reviews for
31
30
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We were pleased that the facility provided clean beds and a clean washroom, BUT:

The chairs, mattresses and carpets were all stained (room 217)
The round table had not been cleaned at all
The door knob coming in to the room was broken and only worked in reverse
Only two of the five lamps worked
The coffee machine was available, but ther was nowhere to plug it in
They gave me a password for the Wifi ...and it didn't work



hUGE disappointment

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for your review. Here at Red Lion Hotel in Gallup, we strive to make sure each and every guest is satisfied. I have made your review a priority with my maintenance staff and our housekeeping staff. We have checked each of your concerns and made any changes necessary. The Wi-Fi, was out in the area and we were having problems on this end of town. Because of your comment about the coffee maker, we have decided to move the coffee makers to a better location for the needs of our guests. I have spoken with the head housekeeper and the housekeeper that cleaned the room, and we have gone over your review with them. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know and we hope to see you on your next trip to Gallup and see we take our customers comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I travel frequently but had never stayed at a Red Lion hotel before ending up in Gallup, NM. We can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff there. We swam in the pool and jacuzzi, our only complaint was that the pool area was a bit stuffy due to lack of ventilation. Our room was very large and very clean. We had a drink in the bar and decided to order dinner, which was absolutely delicious. We played billiards (pool) and had a great time. The bartenderess was super friendly and gave us the best service. The following morning we took advantage of the free, hot breakfast and it was as good or better than any restaurant we could've gone to. We now know to seek out Red Lion hotels on our future travels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Large spacious room with refrigerator. Nice indoor pool. Good buffet breakfast. And I really liked the quiet A/C unit - I had a good night's sleep here. hotel has a nice gift shop, bar lounge, and restaurant. My only complaint would be the old fashioned television and poor local station reception.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Spent one night last week. King suite w/kitchenette. Bathroom floor was dirty with hair all over it. Tub had hair, sheets had hair. Gross. Window of room was filthy with dirt and bird crap. Could barely see out. Dinner that night in steakhouse was awful. Service horrible, meal took over an hour to come to the table and wasn't good when it did finally arrive. Breakfast next day was supposed to be a "hot" buffet. Coffee was weak and cold. Food was cold, eggs were cold, hash browns were raw. Inedible. Ended up at awesome donut shop across the street for donuts and coffee even though breakfast came with the room. All in all a 1/2 out of 10 and only because the TV worked. Will not go back. Cannot recommend. Trains all night running by the front.

Room Tip: Don't stay here and you might get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We will stay here every time we pass through Gallop. The staff bent over backwards to accomadate us. Spacious, clean rooms. They had one of the only working pools in Gallup which was clean and fun. The food was great! My husband said as we were leaving "did you notice how friendly everyone was?" i have nothing to say negative about this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very nice place to stay. When we walked in and asked about staying, we had very friendly and helpful service. Yolanda did a great job helping us. She recognized a very tired motorcycle lady who had ridden to Gallup from Las Vegas that day. The people in the bar were very friendly also. Gift shop was amazing. So many wonderful products. Hope to stay at a Red Lion again. Very reasonable rates. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Also had a place to plug in my c-pap machine near the bed so I could use it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are always happy when our guests are pleased. The
comments regarding our staff was greatly appreciated. Looking foward to your return trip to Gallup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museum as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 miles.The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs.Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse, Rookie's Sports Bar, meeting and banquet facilities totaling 9000 square feet, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium.The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.