We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broke down trucker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   3101 West US 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
2 reviews
“Broke down trucker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My truck just happened to break down here in Gallup New Mexico so I had to have the repairs done at a nearby shop, I checked into the Econo Lodge and I must say it was a very pleasant stay, I was here for 13 days total and the rate was very affordable, the front desk managers was great the maids the maintenance man everyone was so pleasant, I can't say enough about what a nice stay this was, the room was pretty nice I was impressed on my overall stay here, they also have truck parking and a decent continental breakfast for the price the place is great. Thanks a lot Econo Lodge Staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you Jimmie for your great review! I am glad you enjoyed our accommodations and had a pleasant your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in Gallup again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
18
25
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, New Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel/rooms were. We were expecting an older, run down hotel and instead got a very nicely done, newer hotel. Also, most hotels in Gallup the trains keep you awake, here we didn't hear a train all night. For the price, by far and away the best place in Gallup to stay. It is on the west end of Rt 66 of Gallup and is 2 miles to much of any kind of business, but it takes no time to get into town. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you William for writing us a pleasant review! We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations and had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again on your future travels through Gallup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Did a one night stay and was VERY impressed with the friendliness and dedication of Phillip.
The room was nice, but his information made it nicer. He also managed to compensate for the malfunctioning dryer in the customer laundry room. He allowed my wife and the next couple to finish drying laundry in the hotel's facility.
As a former hospitality workers (both myself and my wife), his actions were even more appreciated. Already commented upon this,via another web survey, but we cannot say enough good stuff about Phillip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dearest Jess, Thank you very much for the great review and rating! I was thrilled to hear you had a great stay. I will be sure to give Philip a shout out for a job well done! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your future trips through Gallup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Friendly staff, clean and well-cared-for room with fridge, microwave, blow dryer, flat screen tv, free cable, and best of all, free high-speed Internet. It's right off the highway but very quite. I challenge you to find a better deal! I'll stay here any time I pass thru. I don't know or care if there's a pool or restaurant. This is a degree of magnitude better than the Econo Lodge I stayed in last night

Room Tip: I asked for first floor and got a handicapped room. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Susan,

It was such a pleasure reading your review and thank you so much for the 5-star rating. The entire team and I are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, location and rooms. We wish you the best and we hope to welcome you back to the Econo Lodge, Gallup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This Econ lodge is good for what you pay. The rooms could use some work. However the people working there all were very nice. Also the breakfast was good one of the best I have had at an Econ lodge. They do need more handicapped parking then what they have now. I would stay there again if in Gallup.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review! I am glad that your stay with us was satisfactory and you enjoyed our friendly staff and breakfast offerings. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Econo Lodge on your future travels through Gallup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is old and run-down. It is in great need of a renovation.
The bathroom has paint peeling off the walls, the tub and sink are stained and there are cracked tiles everywhere.
I nearly fell down in the bedroom since there were strange bumps underneath the carpet.
They advertise HBO, but the HBO channel is fuzzy and you are not able to watch it.
The furniture is just nasty. Tried to open drawers but was not able to / the chairs are wobbly.
The windows are disgusting and provide no soundproof, which is highly needed since there is a train passing by about every 10-15 minutes.
The walls must be paper thin since I was able to follow the neighboring room's conversation . Thank goodness for earplugs.
Breakfast is extremely limited compared to other Econo Lodges I have stayed at and the staff didn't seem to care when I explained my concerns to them.

AVOID THIS ONE

Room Tip: Room in the back so you cannot hear the train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Firstly, please accept my apologies for the late reply. I am so sorry your experience here was not the pleasant, enjoyable one that you deserve. I have spoken with the housekeeping and maintenance departments for prompt action and have also provided further training to ensure no such occurrences are repeated. Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. I hope your future travels are pleasant ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was my return trip back east and I had seen this motel previously. The outside looks new and the lobby looks very nice. I was surprised when I got to my room and found older furniture stained and torn. All in all it was clean. It had a microwave and frig..the frig was one of those small dorm size ones and it was on the floor. The bed was "just ok" and the sheets looked clean.
This motel is dog friendly...mostly walking Fido around the building or desert. It has what looks like someday may be a nice enclosed pool..but, it was under construction during my stay.
Price was cheap and so was my room. Would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am sorry that you didn't find your recent stay with us satisfactory. We are currently in the process of getting our exterior canopy renovations completed. Once we are done with these, our focus will be on interior furnishings. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you on your future travels through Gallup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3101 West US 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge® hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 40 on historic Route 66 near The Navajo Nation capital of Window Rock, AZ. This Gallup, NM hotel is minutes from area attractions like Red Rock State Park, Fire Rock Navajo Casino, the Petrified Forest National Park and the Zuni Reservation.Guests will enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, featuring fresh hot waffles. Additional amenities include free Wi-Fi, Guest Use Lobby Computer, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, In Room Refridgerators and Microvaves and Pillow-Top Mattresses. A Hairdryer and Complimentary Bathroom Amenities are also available in all rooms. We also offer on-site Guest Laundry facilities.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge hotel provides inviting accommodations and affordable rates when visiting the Gallup, New Mexico area. Our friendly staff is ready to provide you prompt professional service to make your stay an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gallup
Gallup Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.