We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo is the name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   3101 West US 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Gallup
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Econo is the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I generally go on the cheap because we tend to be exploring and come in dirty. This place was clean as they get. I slept like a baby on the bed. Service was what I wanted and quick. It's a little further on the west side of town and not so convenient to downtown, but found the Taco Bell next door as clean and well serviced as the Econo....and I generally do not frequent Taco B. Yes, I do miss the small indoor pools and hot tubs, but not this time. The fridge and microwave came in handy, but if you're like me, you always bring your own coffee pot if you are particular about what you drink first thing in the morning. A handy little breakfast in the front starting at 6am. I got in and out, slept great, clean, respectable, all for $50...try this Econo, keep your money for the gas tank and the cheap jewelry you can find everywhere in Gallup.

Room Tip: they have smoking and non smoking on the first floor, with no unpleasant odors from either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha V, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for very much for your positive review! We appreciate you taking the time to give us the review and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Gallup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
26
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Presentable motel, indoor corridors. Not really noteworthy good or bad. Probably not the best value in town, but it's hard to judge from a thousand mile away when you're making reservations online. I would neither seek it out nor avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Overnight front desk gentleman was very nice and helpful. Although the morning folks were just not up to par. Some of the workers were enjoying the breakfast that I thought was for guests? The beds were surprisingly comfortable, I slept great! The room was decently clean at this time (early March '13) I don't understand why this hotel has a mixture of smoking and nonsmoking rooms on the same floor, and the room did NOT have a coffee pot in it! Wasn't much for a shower - no pressure at all but yes the hot water worked. Chose this hotel due to some other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed in many Econo Lodges and this one was a surprise. I stepped into the room, and my immediate thought was Wow, what a room! Comfortable, clean, nice decor. Odd that the room had a fridge and a Micro wave, but no coffee maker. The next morning, I strolled down to the breakfast room, and found luke warm coffee awaiting me. It was before the 6am announced breakfast schedule, so I wasn't too bothered. I packed, loaded my truck, and went back to the breakfast room at 6:05, only to find out there was nothing there. I asked the gal at the front desk, and she said "Don't worry, I'll get it set up shortly" Finally, about 6:30 the breakfast room was ready..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very disappointed. I know the lady at the front desk was trying to make us feel good, but when there were only 2 thin towels in the bedroom and asked for more, then told that there were no more towels in the hotel, i couldn't believe it. I guess that's why the price is so low.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oak hills, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

stayed here a few times. priced ok. toite the room smelled of pet urine. tv reception went out and there is no one to fix it.they sent the maintenance man home early. she wants me to switch rooms after i fully unpacked. these tvs are old and outdated, not sure i will return. dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a last minute stop in Gallup and ended up here as I thought that for the $80 price tag in Gallup and with the other reviews,this place would be adequate for an overnight stay. Not so. I had already accepted that the ratings were inaccurate, as this was not a 3 of 5 dot kind of place but it went even more downhill when the AC shorted out and they came in and pulled out the air filter which was FILTHY! We couldn't get out of that place early enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3101 West US 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge® hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 40 on historic Route 66 near The Navajo Nation capital of Window Rock, AZ. This Gallup, NM hotel is minutes from area attractions like Red Rock State Park, Fire Rock Navajo Casino, the Petrified Forest National Park and the Zuni Reservation.Guests will enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, featuring fresh hot waffles. Additional amenities include free Wi-Fi, Guest Use Lobby Computer, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, In Room Refridgerators and Microvaves and Pillow-Top Mattresses. A Hairdryer and Complimentary Bathroom Amenities are also available in all rooms. We also offer on-site Guest Laundry facilities.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge hotel provides inviting accommodations and affordable rates when visiting the Gallup, New Mexico area. Our friendly staff is ready to provide you prompt professional service to make your stay an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gallup
Gallup Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.