We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup to your Saves list
Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 Maloney Drive, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Great Southwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Above average Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This is a fairly new Hampton Inn (but perhaps just beginning to show some wear?). The hotel and rooms are just like every other Hampton Inn - nice, clean, but generic. This hotel was very clean. It has a small indoor pool, and tiny 'business center'.

What elevates this particular Hampton is much better-than-expected service, from the check-in to the breakfast. At breakfast their were two or three staff refilling food, cleaning tables, etc, who were very friendly. What you'd be more likely to run into in at more upscale chains.

The location is right off the interstate, wedged between the mall, big-box stores, and the Cracker-Barrell. If you are passing-through, this is a relatively easy spot to get to, with easy access to restaurants and shopping. If you want to experience local color and flavor while in Gallup, or want to see the town, there are probably better spots nearer town, off the freeway.

We felt it was a good value for the money.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    93
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
99
133
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I knew this hotel was going to be top-notch, beginning with the email that I received from manager, Jonni Chavez a few days before arrival, with restaurant and area information. I requested a rollaway bed, so that we could spread out, and it was delivered soon after we arrived.

The receptionist was friendly, and we found our room to be spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately, my youngest daughter had food poisoning that night from a nearly restaurant and threw up quite a bit before midnight. The night reception wanted to change our room, but the hotel was full, so he instead brought up cleaning supplies and Febreeze, offering to clean up the mess (fortunately, most was in a trash can), but I thanked him and told him that I wouldn't expect him to do that. He insisted on taking the trashcan off of our hands and replaced it with a new one so that my daughter could have it by her bed. The rags, cleaning supplies and Febreeze cleaned everything up immediately (wow, those carpets are majorly Scotchguarded), and everyone was in bed in no time.

The next morning, Jonni Chavez sent up a basket full of three waters, three Gatorade, four granola bars and a selection of Easter candy, all complimentary, concerned about my daughter and wanting to be sure we all stayed hydrated in the high altitude, desert city.

Our stay was wonderful, and I really have to say that the management and front desk folks here are top notch. I highly recommend staying here, if you are heading through Gallup, NM for any reason.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The room was okay, clean and okay. Nothing special. The walls had a silvery foil type of wallpaper, with complimenting curtains. I felt like I was inside a Christmas Package wrapped in foil paper.

Beds okay, was awakened at 2:15 am by the next room talking, not fighting or anything just talking. You can hear every time a toilet is flushed as if the water is freely running in the walls. very noisy not restful at all. breakfast was okay, no complaints. Served the purpose.

Must admit much better than the Best Western in Fort Morgan we stayed at once.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We came to Gallup, NM for the Red Rock Balloon Rally (only about 10 min from this hotel). This hotel was very easy to find being right off of the I-40, you can see it from the freeway. The hotel staff were wonderful from the start, gave us a good rate and even helped us to find the red rock balloon rally and printed the schedule for us! The Hotel was very clean and maintained, we got a studio suite which was a nice size and decent decor. The mattress could have been better (compared to a Hilton) but I'd imagine it could be ALOT worse at other hotels in the area!

This hotel has an Indoor Pool and Whirlpool which looked very clean and maintained. There is also a Fitness room. There is free wired internet in your room and a free breakfast from 6 am -10 am (Bagels, Yogurt, Danish, Cereal, Banana, Muffin, eggs, Biscuit/Gravy, fried Potato, etc and Orange & Apple Juice).

It was freakin' cold at about 6 degrees outside and there didn't seem to be a whole lot to see in this town (unless I'm missing something) but what really makes Gallup, NM great is the people! I have never been to a place where people were so friendly and courteous! People in the Walmart were even nice! :0 The Red Rock Balloon Rally was a beautiful experience and I would definitely stay in this town again, the people make you feel very welcome. :)

I am surprised this hotel doesn't have more reviews as it seems to be the best in Gallup, NM. We are really glad that we went with this Hampton Inn instead of the one to the West, the one to the west has almost nothing around it and is on the edge of town... this location is right in front of the Rio West Mall (not much of a mall... JCPenney is the highlight but its still a mall), Cracker Barrel is right out front (had a wonderful breakfast there!) and Walmart is next door.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Rather new, yet remarkably tired place. Our room had wallpaper peeling off the wall, ceiling leaks (we were on the top floor) and, rather remarkably, no smoke detector -the wires were there but no detector.
Unfortunately, there is not much to choose from in Gallup. My advice -- keep driving.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is one of the newer (and nicer) hotels in Gallup. In my research it was also the most expensive (by $40 to $50/night). I think it's priced too high; but it had the best overall reviews and seemed to be the newest facility in a town with limited selections.

It is very clean and comfortable. Our king room was huge. Staff was very nice and extremely helpful with questions about the Gallup area. We had very little train noise (& there's lots of that in Gallup).

Close proximity to the main highways (I-40, 491 & Route 66), several restaurants and shopping. Exercise room, pool & whirlpool were clean & working.

We'll stay here whenever we go to Gallup.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We were pleasontly surprised by this hotel. It is very clean, newer with comfortable rooms and beds. We would stay here again. Staff was very nice and the location was quiiet. Came away rested and refreshed!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup

Address: 1460 Maloney Drive, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gallup
#3 Family Hotel in Gallup
#3 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup
Hampton Inn Gallup
Gallup Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.