We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for an overnight stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3880 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Gallup
asheville, north carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not bad for an overnight stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a fairly typical budget motel. It was clean, and everything in the room worked well. It is well out of town, so would require a car drive to shop at one of the Indian markets in Gallup, or go for dinner downtown. The motel is on a major highway, and right across from the railroad tracks, so very light sleepers might find the noise problematic, although I did not find it excessive. The breakfast is OK. Not a bad choice.

I was irritated by the fact that the very limited equipment in the exercise room was not all functional: one of two exercise machines was completely broken, and obviously had been for a while.

The people here were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If concerned about noise, ask for a room away from the highway and railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    73
    34
    19
    5
See reviews for
85
60
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I and my wife were at this hotel 2nd week October on our way from Silverton, CO after San Juan Skyway drive.

The hotel located at a very easy to find location; I 40 Fwy about 4-5 miles East from the downtown Gallup. The hotel had free parking. The hotel has 3 levels.

The Check-in / out was quick; the front office staff was not too friendly and customer service oriented but did their work soon.

The room was so clean and spacious, well equipped, well appointed and neat. Linen was clean and new. The bed was comfortable. There was a work desk and good chair. The room had a clean Fridge and Microwave. Bathroom was spacious, clean and well lit.

Also they served decent B/F at a clean area.

Next to the hotel was normal dinner, Subway etc, but not many restaurants.

We liked the place specially because the spacious and cleanliness.

We will, for sure, return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Mohamed, the owner of this facility went out of his way to treat me like I was a family member... I needed a room with a "roll in shower"... and he was able to accomadate my needs by making arrangements with another facility and when the room became available, he brought me back to the Inn. I will forever be grateful for his kindness and concern for my comfort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down South in Dixie
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were originally thinking of staying at another motel in Gallup, but it was full. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here. It was a good decision. The price was better, and the place is very nice. The motel is on the east end of Gallup, quiet, clean, with great service. We enjoyed the stay so much, we booked another room for our return home.

Room Tip: Trains are frequent on the tracks across from the motel. However, they were not a bother inside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because they offered a large 2 room King Suite with a sofa sleeper as we had all three of our teenage boys with us. Two of our boys had another room with 2 double beds. The room smelled fresh and clean. It appeared that the facility had just completed a remodel as the boys room (222)smelled like fresh paint.
Our room (228) however smelled like someone had a Frat party just recently. The room smelled like cigarette smoke, beer, and vomit all rolled in together. We immediately went down to the desk clerk to notify them so we would not be charged. The nice friendly clerk appreciated us notifying her of the condition of the room and stated that although the Hotel is a 100% smoke free hotel, sometimes people do smoke in the rooms.
The King room was very spacious with a small refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker. The room was equiped with two tv's. The bathroom was rather large and spacious. Outside of the smell the room was clean. The bed was very comfortable as was the pillows. Another perk of the room that it has seperate air conditioning controls for each section of the room.
We ate downstais at the continential breakfast which offered a variety of items from waffles, hard boiled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage patties, and other items you would normally expect for breakfast.
There is a train track closeby but the noise was not so loud that it was bothersome.
The hotel has a pool and an excercise room.
Overall this was a nice stay. We don't normally stay at a La Quinta, but the rooms offered and the price fit our family and our budget at the time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was a fine place - even had an enclosed area for off leash dogs. The 2 double bed, ADA accessible room was easy to get around in and the roll in shower was very nice, with easily reached shower controls and a bath bench. We were initially offered a 2nd floor King room, but it was quite far from the entrance. The room we actually took was also a down a long hall, but closer than the initial offering. (I prefer outside entrances, rather than inside corridors, because I use a walker and can only use one of my legs, so it is very tiring to walk any distance.) Room was clean, good TV, and the beds were very confortable. There was a train on our side of the hotel, and Rt 66, but the other side was I-40, so I am not sure which side would be less noisy. We did not notice the noise much - we kept the fan on for that reason - but the hotel has pretty good sound proofing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at this particular hotel while moving from Arizona to Colorado. I needed a pet friendly hotel, as I had my two dogs with me. I read that La Quinta is a dog-friendly hotel chain, and it did not disappoint. This hotel did not mind the number of dogs I had, and my request for a first floor room was honored thankfully. I was happy to be surrounded by rooms that seemed to house other pet-owners (I could hear them bark, so I didn't feel bad when mine made a little noise). Access to walk them was easy, as they have designated dog areas (in abundance). The staff was very nice, and the room was clean (although in need of a remodel soon) and well-stocked with towels, etc. A continental breakfast was offered and express check out was a blessing during this trip. I would stay here again when traveling with my dogs.

Room Tip: When traveling with pets, make sure to request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup

Address: 3880 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Gallup
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup
La Quinta Gallup
La Quinta Hotel Gallup
Gallup La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.