We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat good Mexican Food with the Locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Cafe

Jerry's Cafe
406 W Coal Ave, Gallup, NM 87301-6402
505-722-6775
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Gallup
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Bloomington IL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Eat good Mexican Food with the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good Mexican food at good prices. Jerry's will probably be full, but you may be the only travellers there. Places like this survive on the goodwill of the locals by providing good friendly service and the food that you expect. If you are a Gringo like me, don't ask for anything picante. Jerry's is the real deal.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    51
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good, for Gallup I suppose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

ambience is excellent, decor quite retro, waitress extremely nice, food OK, I have eaten much much worst in US. chicken burrito had nice pieces of chicken. way too much cheese though. cheap + probably you won't find better in Gallup.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolaqueen
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Late Dinner and was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

On a 2000 mile road trip and was getting late. Starving and hard to find anything not fast food after 8pm. Well, Jerry's was chosen from my trip advisor phone app because of good reviews and we were not disappointed. Place was packed even being around 8:30pm but service was fast and efficent. The sopapillas are the best with a little butter and honey. Will definately stop again next time I am in the area!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“awesomly yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

we found this place after reading reviews. the building is old and small. the food is soooo good. i had the jumpstart eggs with green chili , beans hash browns solphlias ... great price for less than 8 bucks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallup
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekly Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I have made it a point that every Saturday morning we go to Jerry's for breakfast. We have the Jerry's burrito with sausage and red chili and it is amazing. We say "yum" with every bite. We have become "regulars" and Tanya knows what we want as soon as we arrive. Great service to get to know your customers wants. I look forward to still going to Jerry's 20 years from now with my wife and still ordering the same burrito.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.