We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look and safety” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallup Cultural Center

The Gallup Cultural Center
201 East Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Gallup
Attraction details
Quartzsite, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Look and safety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay but all we could see was people standing around in the parking lots,was afraid to leave our car unattended the town really needs a face lift.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Probably best for learning about Native Americans around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A self guided tour of some interesting displays of art and Gallup. Sand painting and kachina carving are show. Art from competitions is also displayed. Cute cafe in the same building. Nice bathrooms. Still a waiting room for trains.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“History, heritage and thriving art....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The building is hosting art, by local school children and adults.
Am looking forward to receiving purchase of Monument Valley
By 8th grader Anthony APachito.. (Sorry if I spelt that wrong)
Bless your talent , you will do very well.

We saw artifacts, fascinating understanding of life for the Native Americans and their ways of living and thriving in New Mexico. If you're in Gallup, it is so worth a visit.

Please donate a little something if you can, buy some art... It all helps the heritage x and wow, what talent these budding artists have ...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Small and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We started our visit with a cup of Chai and friendly conversation in Angela's Cafe, which is located on the first floor. History is so important and this is the opportunity to learn a little more about Navajo Code Talkers. The museum is on the 2nd floor. Take the time and go upstairs. Walk around and enjoy the displays and exhibits. If you are in Gallup, definitely add this to your list of places to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Cute cafe and nice upstairs museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stopped here for the first time and had some awesome carrot cake, espresso, and tea and the little cafe inside. The ladies were so friendly, and there are funny signs all around to read. Upstairs are some cultural and art exhibits to look at. No entry fee. Note that this is also the Amtrak station for Gallup, and there is a small gift shop. Worth a stop for about 20 minutes.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallup Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to The Gallup Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallup Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.