We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair and honest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Malone Trading Company

Bill Malone Trading Company
235 W. Coal Ave, Gallup, NM 87305
505-863-3401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Gallup
Type: Antique Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Fair and honest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Interesting selection of Indian art, especially woven goods, also some very nice Kachina dolls. I purchase a beautiful carved walking stick that the Trading Company mailed to Atlanta since it was too big to fly with us on the plane. They know their business and will work with you any way that they can.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An education in Navajo weaving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the Bill Malone's store based on a recommendation from a gallery owner in Santa Fe. It involved a detour, but was worth it! We met Mr. Malone and two of his daughters. Mr. Malone is a local and has lived in the region and knows Navajo craft...I mean, KNOWS!

He gave us an education in the styles of Navajor weaving, showing us representative samples of several styles - Ganado, Klagatoh, Two Grey Hills, eye-dazzler, Burntwater, Chinle. By the time we left, we too felt like experts! We bought a gorgeous Ganado storm-pattern rug, at an extraordinarily fair price, and complete with information on the weaver. Mr. Malone may not have the inventory of some other stores in Gallup, but we found the quality of his goods to be impeccable. Also, there was no pressure to make a purchase. Several of his family who were in the store, took the time to indulge our (sometimes dumb) questions. They topped it off with a great restaurant recommendation too!

There is clear passion for the art that they deal in. If you have time, Mr. Malone may share some his storied from his decades working with the Navajo. A previous review is titled "honest and well-priced Navajo art". It couldnt have been worded better.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“Honest and Well Priced Navajo Art In A Busy Tourist Hub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Bill Malone, himself will help you with anything sold in his Gallup Trading Post. His experience with Navajo weavings and their history is unparalleled. This is not a place to buy inexpensive souvenirs and t-shirts but to acquire Navajo art at extremely fair prices…both for you and the Navajos who created the art. Equity for the Navajo artist, honesty and the humbleness of Mr. Malone are reasons why making a stop at Malone's will be an educational experience. Bill's shop is not ritzy and sometimes the stock is limited…but what is there at any one time is really good. By the way there are some small, inexpensive items too, they are simply not from China like so many other shops.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quality rugs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited Mr. Malone's store this week. He is a very nice, gentle, knowledgeable man. His rug prices were very reasonable compared to other stores in the area. The rug we bought is beautiful and of high quality. We were honored to meet Mr. Malone, a legend in Native American trading. If you are in the area, a visit to this store is a must!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We checked out the Bill Malone Trading Company after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. From the moment we walked into the store we knew we were in good hands. Mr. Malone was there and it is clear he knows his business very, very well. He cares about his customers and wants to help them find something special. He is fair and honest and a pleasure to do business with. We had the honor of meeting his daugther and felt like old friends by the time we left. If you do one thing in Gallup, find your way to the Bill Malone Trading Company!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Malone Trading Company also viewed

 

Been to Bill Malone Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Malone Trading Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.