We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs......will never stay again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup

Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3270 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bed bugs......will never stay again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My son and I were just passing through and chose to stay......huge mistake. Outside looks ok, lobby smells like BO, falsely advertised rates, staff was not friendly, hair all over the room, needs major repairs and updating, and my son woke up COVERED IN BUG BITES!!!! His face is swollen because he has been bit so many times. Never again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelgallup, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have took this review; as any motel would very seriously. We have had Orkin pest control come and check all rooms for any signs of bed bugs, and are proud to say we have none nor have we ever had any issues here of bed bugs. There has however been many cases of mosquito bites this year due to rain and dry weather. We have copies available at front desk from pest control confirming there are no bed bugs on our property. Hope this clears up any confusion on the bites to your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    53
    37
    34
See reviews for
59
53
25
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very nice place, we got three rooms that were vary clean, and the internet works really well. The staff was nice and helpful and they had great waffles for breakfast. thanks for the great stay!
-Jody E.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelgallup, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you on your next trip through Gallup, New Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Travelling cross country via motorcycle through a heat wave I needed to stop and get some rest. Unfortunately I had not read reviews or previously checked on this spot. I had heard prior people say Microtel Inn was a good place so I stopped. The location was fine but that was it. There was an odor upon entering the lobby and the fan that "wasn't" running didn't help. The man behind the counter struggled with the English language. I asked if the air conditioner worked and was answered with an affirmative response (I hoped). The shower curtain rod was busted and the walls were dirty. Amazingly the TV was new and the air conditioner worked, I slept for awhile and then arose early enough to get back on the road. After 21 yrs in the Marine Corps I had slept in worse places...but just barely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelgallup, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your unsatisified stay with us, We take pride in our rooms and try our best to keep customers satisified. If any guest at any time is not happy with their room or anything on our property we would gladly change rooms or fix the problem to the best of the guests satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My family and I arrived at about 5:00 pm. No one was at the front desk When we were finally helped, the clerk was so soft spoken that it was very difficult to understand her. She checked us in but warned us that we needed to park in the front of the hotel because there were numerous thefts in cars who parked in the back. The room itself was a bit unusual. The TV was place on top of a wardrobe cabinet which meant to watch TV you had to look up. Breakfast was served from a converted closet sized room and the toaster did not work. Shower pressure was low. Wish I had spent a little more and stayed at hotels off of exit 20. I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

At the end of our six week annual trip to the midwest, we were on our way home when we got stopped by car trouble. After spending part of the day in Albuquerque getting the van fixed, including brand new front tires, we pulled into Gallup for a rest stop and discovered that one of those brand new tires was flat! That was it for us, we had to spend the night and get the tire fixed the next day. Fortunately, the exit where we pulled off was home to a Microtel Inn. We use these all across the country because they are uniformly wonderful. Polite staff, comfortable beds, free breakfast, in room fridge, clean bathrooms, large screen t.v.s with cable, free wi-fi, and our kids have always loved the window seats! We have never had a bad experience and we've been using this chain for years. The price is right, and the rooms are clean - you just can't go wrong choosing this brand. Gallup is the friendliest place - while we were waiting for AAA at least five families stopped to see if we needed help. This friendliness continued to the staff at Microtel - they were so kind and quickly got us settled with extra towels and big smiles after hearing of our troubles. I don't believe any of these bad reviews - I think those people just wanted more than you can possible expect from a reasonably priced hotel. You want luxury, you have to pay for it. All we care about is that it's clean, the bed is comfortable, and we don't have to fork out 50 bucks the next morning for breakfast for a family of four. There were plenty of choices for a healthy breakfast - including whole wheat bread. If you don't like your towels, you just ask for more. We've never been turned down. Go with Microtel for a good clean experience!

Room Tip: Always ask to be away from the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelgallup, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad we were here to assist you on your trip as we know car troubles are very stressful while traveling. Hope to see you on your next trip through Gallup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVONIA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The online price is $65, however when we checked in, the rate was $80 + tax. Rooms were pretty good. Breakfast left a lot to be desired for the price. This was my first experience with a Micro Tel Inn, and I probably won't choose them again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived in town without a reservation and ended up at this joint. Large sign advertises 20% off for AARP members. This was not honored because the Junior High Rodeo was in town. The desk help was rude, the breakfast was minimal at best...hope you like white bread and for 2 people you receive 2 small worn out bath towels The in room information book states that USA Today newspapers are available. Not so, a desk person instructed me to go to the liquor store next door and buy one, they never have them at the front desk. The next night we stayed at the Hampton across the street...much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelgallup, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us on your trip. We have recently hired new desk help due to the negative attitude of one employee. We hope that one night does not discourage you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup

Address: 3270 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hotel Gallup
Gallup Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Gallup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.