We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look at the carpet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge
2720 W. Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301
(505) 863-5152
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 89 restaurants in Gallup
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't look at the carpet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived in Gallup at 9pm and wanted to get dinner close to our hotel as we'd already been driving for a long time. Went here on the advice of a fellow guest at our hotel, who said Virgie's had "the best Mexican food he'd ever eaten." The service was friendly, but the food was not particularly great (too salty but otherwise very bland) and the carpet was filthy. The staff seemed anxious for us to finish so they could close up for the night. Luckily it was not a place we wanted to linger.
Did like the neon sign outside, but it's not a good reason to eat here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    12
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Virgie's is at first glance like hundreds of other Mexican restaurants in the Southwest. The food is what sets it apart. My two enchiladas and tamale were some of the best I have had in a long time, primarily because of the great red chile that covered them. Spicy but not necessarily all that hot, it had a deep flavor that you don't often find in many Mexican restaurants. I'm looking forward to my next visit Gallup so I can try some of the other items on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A little apprehensive at first pulling into the parking lot as an adult store was located at the end of the bldg. Restaurant appears to have been there quite a while and is a little run down and tired. Ordered mexican food and it was delivered fairly promptly. The chips and salsa were a little lame and lacked any punch to them. Ordered chicked enchiladas. They came with rice and refried beans. Portion was small but was commensurate with the price. Wasn't the best that I have ever had but not the worst either. This restaurant was near the hotel that I stayed at and this was the major reason for stopping here. It would not deter me from stopping there again though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The parking lot was packed!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hubby and I are on another cross country road trip. We were scouting out a place to eat that was not a chain. This parking lot was not only full but cars were still entering the lot. When you see people of Hispanic origin going into a Mexican restaurant, you know it is good. Staff is very friendly and work as a team. Our margaritas were getting low and a server gladly placed a refill order. The food is authentic and everything is made on the premise including handmade flour tortillas. Michelle was our server and we overheard her talk to other tourist and even brought a map and explained where all the local historical sites were in reference to Gallup. You do not get this friendly interaction in large restaurants. Kudos to the owner for a "gold mine" in the middle of no where.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Pull off I40 for tasty hot NM food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We pulled into Gallup towards the end of our road trip. My family had tacos, taquitos, cheese enchiladas and chicken enchiladas, both with red chile, onions, and an egg on top. The atmosphere was pure Gallup, just outside the Navajo reservation. Our Native American server was friendly calling my kids mijita and mijio, which they really liked. She wasn't the most efficient, but she was very friendly. The New Mexico red chile on our enchiladas was outstanding, just spicy enough and with a rich flavor. We even asked for more. The egg over medium on top, and onions is a must. The flour tortillas were freshly made and tasty. The beans were also very good. Native American artists floated though the restaurant occasionally, showing their jewelry and carvings. We bought a few since this is how they make their living and their work was very nice and very reasonable. All in all, a very nice experience off the interstate and away from the fast food chains.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.