We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No manners, porn next door” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge
2720 W. Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301
(505) 863-5152
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 90 Restaurants in Gallup
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Michigan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“No manners, porn next door”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Walked in at 9pm, they're supposed to be open till 10pm. Two people (managers?) standing at the cash register just stared at us, then looked away, never saying a word, never greeting us. It took a bus boy to finally say "we're closed" to us. Nice.

We inquired why they were closed when their hours said 10pm, he just repeated "we're closed". Sheesh.

Well, I guess if they're closed, you can always go next door to the porno bookstore (yes, it's ATTACHED to the restaurant) and find something there, we moved on to better service elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Red Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had the platter with an enchilada, taco, and tamale all covered in red chile. It was fantastic. The service was great. They even mixed cinnamon and brown sugar so we could put on our sopapillas we had for dessert.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not whoo hoo.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had friendly service but the food was very average. My husband and I both had meals. The guacamole was like paste. There was nothing extra in it and was not tasty.
We would not go back.
There were also people strolling through the resturant selling there wares. They were not intrusive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Window Rock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family owned restraunt, one of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The food is great. It is a place to try if you like spicy mexican food. My daughter loves the chips and salsa.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“old time mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

it's the real deal. good menu selection. I had very good enchiladas. wonderful salsa and chips. hot sopapillas and honey. also got chips and salsa to go. we will be stopping there again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgie's Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.