We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WISH it was better than it was” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Hotel & Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I WISH it was better than it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The potential is so amazing, if only there was care by ANYONE. We're exploring Route 66 and trying to experience vintage places, but other than the lobby this one is a little sad and not in as good of shape as most others. There's a security guard that wanders the parking lot - it's not a great area. The lobby is amazing. Our room was fine. It's historic, so we're used to the lack of outlets. Our room had a little kitchenette that was interested. The bathroom was VERY small. The beds were fine. The doors have louvers on them - no one can see in, but sound-wise it's open to the hallway. Our room overlooked the roof of the restaurant, I'm guessing. The people in the room next to us would climb out on the roof and smoke at all hours, so we couldn't crack a window to mitigate the boiler/steam heat. The hotel advertises Wi-Fi, but it wasn't available in the rooms (PET PEEVE). Actually, they had just upgraded, so I had a visible signal labelled El Rancho, but it required a user name and password. When I asked, the desk didn't know. They gave me a single set of characters. After trying all combos, I went back down and asked and they said they didn't know. No sorry, nothing. I asked a person using a laptop in the lobby and he said there is a different unsecured access point in the lobby. Would have been nice if the desk had told me that. And don't waste your time with the restaurant.

Room Tip: As others said - view the room before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    152
    65
    44
    32
See reviews for
68
154
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is old and historic - not a five star, but we weren't expecting it to be. I drove 150+ miles out of my way to stay there. I had confirmed reservations (credit card on file) for the John Wayne room. When we arrived, the quirky man behind the desk said our room wasn't available. "It had been red tagged" He was lying, and you could tell so by watching him. He had either rented the room to someone or something else, but whatever.... he was lying to us. I drove at least 2 1/2 hours to stay there. The hotel lobby is interesting, but with happenings like this, I would avoid it like the plague. You want to see it - walk into the lobby, have a look-see, and then go to the Hampton (exit 16 on I-40) down the street - new, clean, nice and great beds to sleep on

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Really cool lobby which includes both the ground level and the upstairs. Lots of historic movie pictures and the like. This is the second time we stayed at the hotel. The first time the room was really cramped and the bathroom even more so.... really gives you an idea of how the place was "back in the day", but not so nice now. We reviewed the rooms before we settled in.. I highly recommed it. We were on the third floor, the hallway was a bit smelly but the room was fine. Great front desk staff. We did not eat at the restaurant this time but did before. Ok for price and service... there are better options down the street (ask). I do wish the owners would do some upgrading of the hotel and keep its charm...

Room Tip: Check out the room before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This review is for the El Rancho restaurant only. We stayed at the hotel before, but not during this trip.

Restaurant service was slow/accurate, food quality was good and the prices were fair. Clearly, there is a lot of history in this place as well as continuing potential.

Recommend for the history

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette hill, pa, usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The shower looked so unhygienic that we decided to wait to the next stop.
There was no internet in the room (supposedly a temporary issue), so I'm sitting in the lobby writing this listening to kids banging away on the piano.
There was one spare socket in the room to charge anything with.
I noticed there was neither a thermostat or heat radiator in the room. (It was around 30 degrees outside). Upon enquiry, I was told that there was an on/off switch which turned the heat on or off, but that there was no way to actually set the temperature, even approximately. So, your choices were to either be stiflingly hot, or cold, or jump up and down from the bed to turn the heat on and off—not very practical while you’re sleeping. We were cold!
Those movie stars must have been kleptomaniacs. This is the only hotel I’ve ever been in where the radio cord is screwed into the bottom of the night table!
This place is obviously trading solely on its historic image. So, do yourself a favor, and visit the lobby, take it all in, then turn around and stay elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were very comfortable. It's not the pillow top mattress that you get other places but the atmosphere alone is worth the visit. Really nice lobby with big fireplace and comfortable chairs. Lots of Hollywood history. Nice staff make the stay better.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to the El Rancho the night we rolled into town but we did stop in before we left Gallup. The hotel has a great number of photos of various movie stars that have stayed there while filming movies in the area.

We ate breakfast there and enjoyed the ambience and the food. A gift shop has some interesting items for sale.

This is definitely an place to stop when in Gallup. If we go back to Gallup, we'll stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Address: 1000 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your El Rancho Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Hotel & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.