We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the faint of heart!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Hotel & Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Pasadena, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for the faint of heart!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thought it would be a hoot to stay here while visiting some Navajo friends in the area. In a sense, it was. Front desk welcome was slow, and our reservation got goofed up. Room was depressing, marginally clean, with old/broken fixtures. Bathroom was worse. Stained, card-board-y worn towels. Funky smell everywhere. Met a European jeweler who was staying in the long-term residence wing while doing some research. She brought us to see some of her stuff. The long-term wing is even scarier than the regular rooms. Best of all? The sounds the plumbing made in the night.
The lobby is charming, and the breakfast is good if you get in early. However, the charm is worn into being dilapidated and unpleasant. I don't know who owns it, but they should be ashamed of themselves. Better still, they should really sell to someone committed to restoring the place.
Best of all, our friends laughed at us for staying there. They won't even drive onto the property, since the locals believe there are skinwalkers there. I kind of agree, though the haunting runors are likely due to the noisy plumbing...

Room Tip: Just don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    152
    65
    44
    32
See reviews for
68
154
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We drove up and down Hwy. 66 a few times, trying to find a place to stay. El Rancho was clearly the nicest hotel/motel in the area, so we took a chance, walked inside, and were pleased to find that we could book a motel room for less than $100 for one night.

Obviously we wished we could've stayed in the hotel itself, which presents a really neat atmosphere for all its guests. Stumble on in--I think you'll like it, too.

Our motel was pretty decent. Clean. Suitable. Comfortable. Definitely the place to stay if you're on a budget. There wasn't anything incredible about it, but it was exactly what we wanted. Therefore, no complaints here (and I should also mention that the man who checked us in at the front desk was really nice).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is what is says on the tin. It is a hotel/motel frequented by actors such as Bogart - and not necessarily updated since. It has great atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and it it a lot of fun. Importantly it is also very clean.

We paid an extra $30 and were upgraded to the bridal suite. We had a huge lounge, two outdoor patios,a very large bedroom and a very small bathroom. It was decorated I the style of 50s but very fitting - together with the pink lights outside as we arrived.

We had a drink in the bar before dinner - a very good margarita and choices of whiskey. Dinner was good. House wine was perfectly nice and the food well cooked. No it isn't fine dining but you get exactly what it says. We had fajitas and steak - we had a great evening and the price was good.

We were on a road trip and this was a very good stop just off Route 66.

Room Tip: Ask what an upgrade costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Interesting building,loads to see walking around inside,pictures,small bits of history etc,good bar and drinks,rooms expensive and small,staff ok,but not too bothered about you once you've booked in and paid.All in all ok,but not worth rushing to,popular because it's on Route 66,a little disappointing...

Room Tip: Have a walk around first,then decide if you really have to / want to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Told this was fantastic - I don't agree! We are doing Route 66 - and looked forward to this stay. After 30 mins of wandering around the impressive old lobby and viewing old photos of the movie stars of yester-year - it is all down hill. The rooms are small and under perform. Water runs through the AC and sounds like a drain continually running-really annoying during the night - I rang the desk and was told this was part of the historical culture of the hotel ! Seemed to me like poor plumbing in need of maintenance. Truth is this! it is an old hotel. The room should be $50 but you will pay twice this to stay at El Rancho because of its' R.66 history and ... breakfast is not included - you will pay an extra $25 for ... x2 breakfasts! My tip - stay somewhere else and just visit and have a drink and look around - dinner was quite good - but everything about this hotel is over priced unless you are totally smitten with old movie stars and prepared to pay extra for this historical indulgence !

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and visit for half an hour !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Did not stay overnight here, but stepped inside for a while to see a unique hotel. Go to the balcony level and see the pictures of movie stars from the old days. Also some large Native American murals interspersed among the photographs. Take a peek into a hallway to see rooms that are named after stars like Humphrey Bogart and Jane Fonda.

Unfortunately, this facility is not caring for its uniqueness as the photos and autographs are fading and acid coming through from back of the pictures.

There is gift shop there, so buy something to pay for the pleasure of seeing a unique piece of Americana.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Kept seeing billboards for El Rancho Hotel on our drive to Gallup, home to the stars and I was suckered in. (I had just read a review on Trip Advisor about this hotel.) I just wanted to see this place and when we went inside, my husband decided we would stay there, why not, it was something really different. We checked in and got to our rooms. The rooms are small, the bathroom are small, only two outlets which were packed with plugs, but who cared, it is a very hold hotel on Route 66 and you just stay there because. We actually got a room for $84 for the night. Thought that was totally reasonable. But, it was a great part of movie star history.

The 2nd floor has pictures of all of the 30, 40, and 50's movie stars that stayed at this hotel. It was quite something to see. I loved it. After we journeyed through history, we went to the gift shop where they had amazing jewelry and other wonderful items. Who knew they had such wonderful pieces of jewelry. One silver bracelet caught my eye and it was way to expensive, but I still thought about it all night.

The restaurant was ok, but understaffed for dinner. We had to wait for about 45 minutes to get it. The food was doable and the service was pretty good. We actually had breakfast in that restaurant the next day and we got it relatively fast and the food was good as was the wait staff.

And, I did get my silver bracelet at a negotiated price thanks to my husband. But it is gorgeous. We packed up the car and away we went driving on Route 66.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Address: 1000 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your El Rancho Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Hotel & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.