We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the experience, not the comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Rancho Hotel & Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gallup
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go for the experience, not the comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everyone should visit El Rancho Hotel once. Don't be afraid that you'll miss it when you get off the interstate in Gallup: it's right on the corner and has plenty of neon signage. The lobby is a scream. I must say, though, if this is where the movie stars used to stay while filming Westerns, these were movie stars who were not spoiled by luxury. We had the Ida Lupino Room (all the rooms are named for stars from back in the day). It was small, the bathroom tiny.

I must mention the lovely night desk clerk, Sean, who helped us when the reservation we'd made through Hotels.com didn't show up on their computer, and also did us a real solid by letting us know that we'd left the door to our car wide open! Thank you, Sean!

Breakfast is not included and is not exactly a bargain. However, the restaurant is nice, and the huevos rancheros were fabulous. Both the green and red chile sauces were delicious.

If comfort is your top priority, stay elsewhere in Gallup and come for breakfast. But do come.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel itself rather than using a travel site. They are very helpful, will give good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    164
    73
    45
    33
See reviews for
73
173
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here late one night after all day of traveling. We were given a price kind of out of our range (unexpected trip) but decided to stay. Once we got in and they saw we had 3 small kids, exhausted and everything the hotel front generously dropped it down $30-40. It was late so we appreciated it.

Wow it was very beautiful. The history decorated along the walls was so unique and the place really had its own persona. Hollywood meets the West. Each room is named After somebody and that was fun to see.

The rooms were very Comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was definitely outdated but clean and the water was nice and hot!! We wish we could have stayed longer to check out the amenities.

We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This motel/hotel is way past its prime. Overpriced. Extremely tiny bathroom, the one
Electrical plug in is so worn that anything plugged in immediately falls out. Took ten minutes to get hot water from a shower head that is way too low unless you are under 5 feet tall.Carpet is old, stained, and torn. Room is very small, no place to put anything as the closet has no shelf and is only 12 inches deep. The bar has no beer on tap, everything was bottles or cans and no glass was ever offered. The surrounding business are pawn shops and cheap motels that look like they rent by the hour. The lobby is nice, which is good because that is where you have to go to use wifi, but the player piano is loud and constant. The desk staff was not helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Great stay at a piece of history on the old 66. Great shop and restaurant on site! Wee bit scary at night with some of the intoxicated locals but that seems to be the way for classic route 66 joints! But can't fault the hotel and all the staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a fascinating hotel, conveniently located. Plenty of photos of stars around the walls and a great lobby! Rooms were fine, and rates were reasonable, considering the type of hotel. The motel next door has cheaper rates. Breakfast in not included in the price, however, but it was good and worth the extra. There's a decent swimming pool as well. A couple of the staff were a bit on the abrupt side, whilst others were helpful. I'd stay there again, anyway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MO.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed here several times in previous years, in rooms on the first floor, and have always enjoyed it. We love the two story lobby with comfortable seating and art in the hallways. We stayed for three nights in August, but because the hotel was almost full, we had a small room on the third floor and encountered several minor problems. First, one must get an elevator attendant from the front desk to use the elevator, This was inconvenient. Although there is no complimentary coffee or breakfast, there is a great ice machine on the ground floor. Staff were not very knowledgable or helpful about events, such as a downtown parade, occurring in Gallup. We could not open the windows in our room, but the hotel maintenance person was able to pound them open. The bathroom was tiny, but acceptable as this is an old hotel. The room had a good ceiling fan and the bed was OK. While we love staying at El Rancho, the guest relations and services could definitely be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are best as they do not require use of an elevator attendant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at this historic hotel on the way to Nevada. The rooms were clean, the service was helpful and enjoyed the history and the restoration. The rooms were nice, but a little tight if you have maassive quantities of luggage....

Room Tip: Pack a little light; the rooms are a pinch on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Address: 1000 East Hwy 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your El Rancho Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Gallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Hotel & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.