We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Inn
701 Airport Drive, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Monticello, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had trouble finding someplace to stay in Farmington, NM and stumbled on this place. Huge room, very comfortable beds, large vanity, refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom included a large tub AND a separate shower! Very well maintained and super quiet in residential part of town. Loved the old style entry and fully tiled bathroom in beautiful colors. Best motel stay I've had for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through town on our way to Utah and just needed a place to stop for the evening. This place was a good value. The owners keep the place up well and it was very clean. Some minor things kept it from a very good review. The ice machine was broken (I survived). In the middle of the night our heating unit started squealing like a pig and we had to shut it off. Still, I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Royal Inn is set apart from the street with walls, giving it a quiet atmosphere and sense of seclusion. The room was large and well furnished and very clean. When I couldn't operate the remote for the TV (which had a complicated set up) and the manager couldn't get the problem solved on the phone, he came right over and got everything in working order--even though it was dinnertime. The Royal Inn was priced below even the cost of most Motel6's. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to lay our heads for the night and what we discovered was a wonderful step back in time. Arrived very late with no reservations and were greeted with a warm welcome. Opened the door to the room and found a room that has been meticulously maintained from the 60's. Separate shower and bath, Large spacious room and a very comfortable bed. All for $50!!!!! Warm friendly staff and a really neat vibe

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We travel to farmington often to visit family for years and I wish I had known about this place sooner. I Couldn't agree more with positive reviews below, although it is not out of town as one reviewer stated, but it does have that feeling. This hotel is the best kept secret in town; we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pros:
- super clean
- comfortable mattress
- shower and bath in restroom, hot water
- quiet
- friendly staff
- located opposite a dental office, seems a safe neighborhood

Cons (minor nitpicks) :
- shower head low (I am 5'6" and had to crouch slightly)
- room took an hour to cool down once the air conditioning was turned on

Overall impression:
- we have paid three times the price to be less comfortable. The owners are obviously super efficient managers to maintain a profit at the room rates they are charging; do they care to run our economy too?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet,clean,reasonably priced stay then this is the place. The motel is older with few amenities but does have a microwave and a small fridge. We stayed four nights in June 2013 and this would be our first choice when we return to Farmington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 701 Airport Drive, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington
Farmington Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.