We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
Royal Inn
701 Airport Drive, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Beds were a little hard but room was very clean. Separate tub and shower. Older place but loved the color schemes. No coffee in the room. Quiet place right next to a mountain. Not the best part of town but we felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Questa, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved family owned and operated businesses!

If you're traveling with a bunch of kids, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are gigantic. The bathroom will blow your mind - colored tiles half way up the walls and up to and even on the ceiling in the shower, matching colored toilet and sink, separate shower and bath - it's like going to grandma's house! There is plenty of space in the dressing room, bathroom, and bed room for stir crazy to kids to stretch their legs.

It's an old hotel for sure and hasn't been renovated to highlight the 50's formica countertop or colored tiles, which is really too bad because it could be really cool. Instead, it's a trippy blast to the past with mismatched curtains, carpets, walls, and furniture which is incredibly entertaining.

Hotel is located off main road = quiet. So quiet. It was wonderful.

Microwave and small refrigerator in room. No coffee pot or blow dryer. Plenty of soap is available but bring your toiletries.

The heater in the room stopped working around 9pm. The owner checked it out and moved us to a different room in short order. He was very kind, considerate and accommodating.

The Royal Inn does not appear to have a website. You'll have to call. The 505 area code doesn't match the region, but it works.

Rooms are priced cheaply but the stay was priceless. We'll stay again!

Room Tip: Hotel is shaped in "L". #1 is on far right by entrance road and #40 (or so) on far left an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I travel a lot for work and decided to stay at the Royal Inn based on it's good reviews. I was there for 9 days. In my experience I've never stayed at a hotel as nice for the low price. The couple who run the place are good people and very nice. The rooms are very large, the decor is unique, and it's peaceful and quiet. I'm a small female traveling alone and I felt safe and comfortable during my entire stay. Oh yeah! The room also had a microwave and mini-fridge (which the La Quinta for three times the price doesn't even offer...) I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for something low budget it can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Don't care for older motels? This one will change your mind. Family operated (of course) and oh so accommodating. I forgot the time zone change and called for coffee in the wee hours. The owner dutifully made coffee for me, even though I tried to insist he not do that.

The rooms are neat and clean. The king bed was most comfortable. And where else do you find your choice of shower or bath at $40/night? Large bathroom, extra dressing room and spacious main room with cable and Wi-Fi.

And best? It is a couple of blocks off the main road, so it is QUIET. No trucks or trains = good location.

Room Tip: The motel is shaped in an L. The rooms on the L nearest the office are the most quiet, as they back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txkipps
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like the previous reviews stated. It's basic, clean and cheap. The hotel is old and a little shabby (not shabby chic, either). But, it's clean and only $45 a night with free wi-fi (be sure to ask for the code when you check in). The air conditioner is a window unit and is a little loud. It does an adequate job, but it's a dry 75 degrees outside. Not sure how it would hold up in the summer heat. There is no light in the enclosed shower stall so when you close the curtain it's dark. Not a lot of electrical outlets so if you travel with a ton of electronics it might be a problem. No continental breakfast, coffee only. Sign in the lobby says no pets. We're just passing through Farmington, checked in just for the night and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Quiet, clean and old fashioned motel. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed where it was located and the grounds was well maintained. The room was nice. The bathroom shower was very dark, but it was a cool retro looking bathroom and clean. (There was a bath and shower - which is a plus.) Definitely a good value. We would come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was a really cute little inn. The grounds were well maintained. The inn is located towards the back of town so it was nice and quiet. There was ample parking for our trailer and the rooms were simple and clean. The staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. It was quite inexpensive ($40 a night). A continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 701 Airport Drive, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington
Farmington Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.