We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Farmington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Farmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Free Night Offer
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Farmington
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Next to the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a pleasant one night stay here. The room was comfortable and quiet and the a/c worked well (although other people there apparently had to switch rooms due to lack of adequate a/c.) The hotel is old, and can use some updating. The hot breakfast was very good. A short walk out the back doors will bring you to a nice brick and dirt 'boardwalk' that runs along the Animas River, and ends up at a nice Veteran's Memorial Park (about 2 miles round trip.) Staff responded quickly to a request for a replacement light bulb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
BobandJan, Thank you so much for seeing the diamond in the rough. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington has a great staff, location and is a full service hotel. Yes, this is an older hotel with lots of character and tons of potential.

Hope you visit us again soon.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    21
    16
    19
See reviews for
29
17
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laughlin, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been looking for the perfect getaway from work. It seems properties in town are either costly or cheap, this one seemed fair but for the price I'd pay $15 more for a newer property.

The staff was nice. They have that.

As mentioned previously, the place is in need of updating and I know they know this. My "suite" had 2 old tvs (yeah, not flats as they advertised) and questionable carpet. Not really what I expect from a suite. Also, a decorative pillow had a rip in it. Really? The housekeeper did not notice this?

I likely won't be back, In my opinion the place isn't worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for commenting on our staff here at The Red Lion Hotel Farmington. We really do have wonderful, caring group of associates. Updates are coming to the hotel in the near future.
Please except our apologies for any inconvenience.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Red Lion Farmington for a wedding that took place there. The hotel is ok. It is old and needs to be updated. Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. The room was clean but old. Caulking was discolored and peeling and cracking in the bathroom. The room we had was two queens and the room was large. Lots of extra space.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub but it was sooo cold; kids don't mind cold but it was too cold for adults.

The space for the wedding was fine but the chairs the hotel provided for the service and reception were old and torn up. For the amount they charge they should be providing better furnishings.

The meal at the reception was also not very good, bad hotel food. Again, I expected better for the amount they charged.

There is a bar downstairs that was busy each night we were there. It does last call at midnight and closes by 12:30.

Our last night there people were knocking on the doors throughout the night.

Complimentary breakfast was ok. Nothing to be impressed by but it was free.

The service of all staff was friendly and helpful.

Overall it was an ok stay but if it hadn't been for the wedding being at that hotel we definitely would have chosen one of the newer hotels just down the street.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Sfike, The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is sorry to hear your stay was just ok. We do however appreciate your feedback. We take our guest's comments very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colliers, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Everything was excellent including the location by the Animas River - the room, breakfast, helpfulness of the girl that took our last minute room request by cell phone on 6/3 and the girl at checkout,. who gave us good info on a pretty drive north to Colorado and Utah that we would not have known when we checked out on 6/4 - Ray

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Ray P. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is pleased th hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent location along a river front. Five miles of walking trails with war memorials, parks, playground equipment, nature trails, walking bridge over the river. Easy access to the hotel. One stop for everything you would need on a vacation. Indoor pool, lounge and restaurant on site.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Robert B. Thank you for taking the time to post comments on your stay with us. The Animas River and park behind our property is a great way to spend a summer's day or evening. Then returning back to the Red Lion Hotel Farmington for a drink and dinner at the Riverwalk Patio & Grille. The asssociates and I hope you visit us again real soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Used to Live in Farmington and remember this location as a Best Western with average hospitality and welcome. Found the Red Lion attitude to be a welcome change and will use this location again when returning for my Class Reunion later this year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Henry P, Thank you for taking the time to post a postive insite regarding our hotel. The asssociates and I enjoyed having you. When you come back we would love for you to make us one of your famous pizza's.

Sincerely,
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Address: 700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Farmington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is located in Farmington, New Mexico in the heart of the Southwest and in the northwest corner of New Mexico, within walking distance of the historic downtown. Farmington is in a high desert with an elevation of 5,500 feet and just 60 miles from the Four Corners National Monument. We are located in the southwest part of town, close to historic downtown Farmington and just 2.2 miles from airport. We are also with-in walking distance to many hiking trails through the valley floor and access to the nature center. Our hotel is a 192 room full service hotel complete with the Riverwalk restaurant and Rookies Sports lounge. All standard rooms offer in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, television, executive desk and chairs, refrigerator and microwave. Wireless internet is available throughout the facilities.The hotel offers a fitness center, the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, and a year-round indoor heated pool and whirlpool. Some of our great services also include complimentary parking, laundry and dry cleaning services and a business center services are available. Our meeting facilities include over 10,000 square feet of meeting space accommodating up to 600 people. Professional conference specialist will take care of everything including initial planning, complete audio/visual and full-service catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Farmington
Best Western Farmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Farmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.