We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay watch out for the suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Farmington to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Farmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Resolve to Explore
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Farmington
1 review
“nice stay watch out for the suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Nice hotel very clean everyone was nice. We were able to go to the hot tub around 9:00pm and actually ENJOY it without children splashing around and screaming. We got to the lounge 20 minutes before it closed but they still served us. Only thing is we booked a suite when checkling in they had us in 2 queens. Quick and easy switch into the room we wanted but the room was hot turned on the AC then noticed it wasn't coming out of the vent very cool called the front desk they advised us to turn it to auto as we did left the room for a good 3-4 hours came back and it was a bit cooler in the living area but still hot by themail bed area. If you NE ac you may not want to book a suite because there isn't a vent in the bed area. Other than that I would stay again but stay in a regular room

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Analee M. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I have contacted our maintenance department with your ac concerns is our suites, our maintenance superisor is looking into possible solutions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    27
    18
    22
See reviews for
35
19
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I purchased the room on Priceline , so I really didn't have much choice . My first impression was not favorable , as there was a mild , yet distinctive odor which couldn't be described as resembling anything but untreated sewage . It permeated the lobby , and was even worse in my room . I 'hosed' down the carpet with Fabreze , and it obviated the nastiness somewhat , but it returned in the middle of the night .
In fairness , the room was clean and quiet , and the desk clerk , Franklin , was a prince . Dirty fingernails notwithstanding . I am ambivalent as to whether I will return or not . Stinkiness and business travel should be mutually exclusive , and that's simply not the case here .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Mr. Ralph P. Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington takes all our guest's concerns very serious.
Your issues have been addressed.

In regards to Mr. Franklin, you are right, Franklin is a prince who has an immaculate apperance. Your remark concerning Mr. Franklin's nails is insulting and inappropriate.
Thank you again for letting us know about your room concerns, and we apologize for any inconvenience.
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Beque, Colorado, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip and in my mind overall it was lacking. Seemed as though the hotel was an existing hotel that allowed smoking. Between the smoke, musty smell, and overpowering smell of chlorine at times I would prefer to stay at a newer or more recently renovated hotel. It looks as though they have thrown down some new carpet and potent air fresheners in the elevator to help mask the smells. The WiFi was also hard to connect to initially and was very slow but was better on the additional nights of my stay. Best part in my mind to this hotel is that the bar on the main level is nice to have and was quite busy during my stay. You also get a free breakfast with your ticket you receive at check in and get discounted meals if you show your room key. I think I will explore some other options before locking a room down here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. The Red Lion is an older hotel with lots of charm and an amazing staff. The hotel has an indoor pool which is located in our over sized garden atrium, great for weddings. Glad to hear you enjoyed our lounge and our free hot breakfast buffet. The Red Lion has plans to upgrade our facility. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered. The Red Lion appreciates your business and hopes you will give us anothe try in the future.

Sincerely,
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

But the room was clean! The dated room with the old TV and the tiny bathroom and the uncomfortable bed...but at least it was clean. There are better choices in this depressing town: Hampton, Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Suites. We got stuck with this hotel because of an industrial convention in town that caused a shortage of rooms. The staff here was quite friendly, though, and it did have a bar/crappy restaurant attached which was convenient. I definitely will not stay here again. Oh, and their breakfast was gross.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Silverstater,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your thoughts are every important to our growth. I apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The rooms have nice comfy beds, good pressure in the showers, free wifi in rooms, nice pool and workout area, good location right in the middle of town, as for the free breakfast it was ok at first, but now they have made changes and now the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Andaub2002... Your comments regarding our breakfast bar are so appreciated.The Red Lion Hotel Farmington are making changes that have been noticed by our guests and that makes our efforts worth while. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington will continue to improve and impress.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I just moved to the area and was delighted to find a casual, friendly but nicely kept place to hang around and enjoy a drink or two. Also have been in on a Friday night when they have a very good DJ and occasional visits from beverage reps giving out swag. I wanted to highlight my favorite bartender, KT, she' is always right on top of everyone's needs, keeps things running smoothly and neatly, handles situations with ease and tact and is a real pleasure to visit with. I look forward to my Sunday beer and conversation regularly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Molly K... Thank you for your kind works regarding TK. Ms. TK is a great bartender who cares about her guests. Nothing better than enjoying a nice cold beer with great company. Rookies Sports bar, were there is always a drink specials and friendly bartenders.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDGEWOOD,NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff was polite and responsive to requests. First room, heat did not work. Was moved to a new room, where tub drain was mostly clogged. Definitely some maintenance issues here. Otherwise clean and comfortable for a couple of nights.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. The associates here at the Red Lion Farmington make every effort to go above and beyond to accommodate our guests. Our maintenance crew work diligently to maintain our property. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Address: 700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Farmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is located in Farmington, New Mexico in the heart of the Southwest and in the northwest corner of New Mexico, within walking distance of the historic downtown. Farmington is in a high desert with an elevation of 5,500 feet and just 60 miles from the Four Corners National Monument. We are located in the southwest part of town, close to historic downtown Farmington and just 2.2 miles from airport. We are also with-in walking distance to many hiking trails through the valley floor and access to the nature center. Our hotel is a 192 room full service hotel complete with the Riverwalk restaurant and Rookies Sports lounge. All standard rooms offer in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, television, executive desk and chairs, refrigerator and microwave. Wireless internet is available throughout the facilities.The hotel offers a fitness center, the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, and a year-round indoor heated pool and whirlpool. Some of our great services also include complimentary parking, laundry and dry cleaning services and a business center services are available. Our meeting facilities include over 10,000 square feet of meeting space accommodating up to 600 people. Professional conference specialist will take care of everything including initial planning, complete audio/visual and full-service catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Farmington
Best Western Farmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Farmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.