We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rookies rocks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Farmington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Farmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Farmington
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Rookies rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I visit Farmington frequently to visit family. I try to come to Rookies every time, but the best experience is always when Karl is working. I've come a few times and he's always friendly, helpful and fast paced. Thank you for that. It's not often you meet someone in this industry that isn't just in it for themselves.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Rookies Sports Bar does ROCK! Come out and join us for happy hour specials and Karaoke with JR.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    23
    16
    20
See reviews for
30
17
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a retirement party for 3 of our Doctors that retired. Melissa in catering was such a joy to work with. The lights and the room setup were beautiful. I worried about the food, but there was no need, it was wonderful. The staff was very nice. The only complaint I have is that when it was time to clean up drinks were tossed, even though we still had about 45 minutes before the end of the party. Other than that I was extremely happy. The event was perfect. We will go back there for future party's.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding Melissa. Melissa is new to The Red Lion Hotel Farmington and has proven to be a great asset to our hotel. If you are ever in need of a wedding venu or a graduation party or just a get together Melissa can help make the function a pleasant, organized success.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stay at the Red Lion, Farmington, NM for a reason. I have stayed at this Red Lion since even before it was named this. The food it great, the connected tavern it very nice, the rooms are excellent, and they have made the usual price per night worth my money. In the past 4+ years I have stayed a total of probably close to 100 times if you count the business associates rooms as well that I have booked. I go to Farmington at least 3 times per year and have to stay a week at a time so the number of room stays have added up. I have been responsible for 14 stays just this year in February and April alone and always at this hotel.
Thanks Red Lion at the River Walk Farmington, NM

Room Tip: I have stayed on both upper and lower levels and both the outside facing and the spa facing rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to the Red Lion Hotel Farmington. The associates at the Red Lion strive to provide exceptional customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I am a Farmington resident and I have of course visited most of the bars in town and I must say that Rookies is one of my favorites. It has a lovely atmosphere and wonderful staff! The bar tender (a red headed man) was quick and friendly and even better he was polite. Not often you find men in a bar that aren't creeps!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment our very own Karl. Our staff at Rookies Sports Bar works very hard to make our guest's feel comfortable and provide them with the best customer service.

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Well I went to rookies on Saturday night we all go to sing karaoke only to find out they only do dance music now on Saturdays kind of upsetting the there was a girl DJ and she played so awesome music so it was not all bad. Kinda nice to see a girl DJ. now the down side!!!! there was a bartender if that's what you could even call him I think his name was karl or kent I am not sure but red head guy .....we waited for our drinks for over 20 min as he talked and joked with a lady at the bar at one point they were trowing paper back and forth at each other while a crowd of people sat and waited I later found out that it was his girlfriend or wife as they were talking about her being pregnant! Pregnant in a bar real classy! He would serve a few drinks and then go right back over to talk to her we were so upset by this we left. That place gets busy and they only have one bartender and on cocktail waitress they should at least have 2 bartenders and ones that actually do their jobs!! PS bring back karaoke on Saturday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Julie P. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your thoughts and concerns. Your concerns with our bartender have been addressed. Management does receive requests to change up our music line up quite often. Please join us on our Rookies face book page with our nightly information on what we will be doing.

Sincerely,
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Affordable, yet high quality treatment. RedLion is always my go to hotel when i'm on travel and away from home. They really know how to bring home to you. We had amazing breakfast, staff was very friendly and or stay was overall amazing. RedLion is amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to compliment our associates and our hotel.
The Red Lion Hotel Farmington, is devoted to making our guest experience the best by providing great customer service.

Sincerely.
Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thinking this was one of the nicer hotels in Farmington was my mistake. The hotel is very run down. The Huge outdated TV's are the least of their problems. Going in the back entrance a gust of wind came in and blew 2 ceiling tiles onto the floor almost hitting my 2 year old daughter. My heater and air-conditioner was not working. After swimming all day it was hot in the room. The windows don't open and the fan wouldn't work. Called front desk who sent maintence 2 times. He told me it was fixed 2 times. It still did not work. We were so hot we could not sleep and the front desk said the could not move me. The vending machine took our money. The pool was very cold and the hot tub was just warm. The front desk was nice but the next morning said the could only discount me $10 out of the $120 I spent. Which is horrible considereing the problems I had from beginning to end. Also breakfast was almost unedible. I was due to stay 2 more nights, but we checked out early went and got a decent breakfast and found a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the temperature of your guest room and that is was uncomfortably warm. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Address: 700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Farmington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is located in Farmington, New Mexico in the heart of the Southwest and in the northwest corner of New Mexico, within walking distance of the historic downtown. Farmington is in a high desert with an elevation of 5,500 feet and just 60 miles from the Four Corners National Monument. We are located in the southwest part of town, close to historic downtown Farmington and just 2.2 miles from airport. We are also with-in walking distance to many hiking trails through the valley floor and access to the nature center. Our hotel is a 192 room full service hotel complete with the Riverwalk restaurant and Rookies Sports lounge. All standard rooms offer in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, television, executive desk and chairs, refrigerator and microwave. Wireless internet is available throughout the facilities.The hotel offers a fitness center, the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, and a year-round indoor heated pool and whirlpool. Some of our great services also include complimentary parking, laundry and dry cleaning services and a business center services are available. Our meeting facilities include over 10,000 square feet of meeting space accommodating up to 600 people. Professional conference specialist will take care of everything including initial planning, complete audio/visual and full-service catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Farmington
Best Western Farmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Farmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.