We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Farmington to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Farmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Richmond
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very clean, rooms were huge, clean. Very accommodating. Free breakfast was also good, eggs, bacon, sausage, many choices. We didn't use the restaurant, but wish we had. Our son lives in farmington and we have stayed in 3 different hotels but I think this is my favorite. I don't think I ever stayed anywhere where the rooms were this large. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington has the largest rooms in town which make for a more enjoyable stay. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
LPaulson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    27
    17
    22
See reviews for
34
19
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I are world travelers retired from a major airline. This was one of the nicest stays ever. Comfortable beds, good food, friendly and helpful staff, located along the river walk and most important to us now DOG FRIENDLY.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington strives to insure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Dog friendly hotels are very important to me as well. Thank you for staying with us.

SIncerely,
LPaulson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place made the Bates Motel look like a 5 star resort! 1st room had trash everywhere, the bed was not made, a cot and pillows were still in the room and the bathroom was not clean. 2nd room was a tiny upgrade- the bathrooms seemed like it was cleaned, but there was still trash in the room. we felt gross sleeping on the bed, but really didn't have any other choice- all the other surrounding hotels were booked. Plenty of other options available. The only reason we stayed there was because there was a convention and this place only had rooms available...know we now why!!


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
First I would like to thank you for your thoughts and concerns. The Red Lion Hotel takes your opinion very serious. I have addresses your concerns with the housekeeping department. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.

SIncerely,
LPaulson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

OMG -- this facility is in DESPARATE need of repair. It's an old Holidome -- you can still smell the chlorine from the '70's. The lobby is a mess so I asked the person checking me in whether this was an indication of the condition of the room. She didn't really answer me -- of course, it was 2AM and there were NO hotel rooms to be found in Farmington. So, what did I expect. I asked her if there was mold in the bathroom -- she very politely said "no, there is no mold in the bathroom." Well, I ended up taking a shower the next morning with a towel spread out in the bathtub -- wasn't going to risk having my skin touch the bottom of the tub. For $100 per night, I think they should be able to invest in repairing the facility.

The hostess that checked me in was EXCEPTIONAL. She has terrific customer service skills. Additionally, the next day, she was very accommodating in changing our additional reservations. She should consider working at a different location / franchise.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else -- maybe your car?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay, we appreciate your honesty, and we apologize that it wasn't all you hoped.

We are constantly making positive changes to the property , and we know when all are complete your going to love it! It is our goal to give you the most memorable, positive guest experience possible, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to do so.

We want to thank you for taking the time to recognize one of our outstanding Front Desk agents, we will be sure to pass your comments along to them!

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abq,nm
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went to this hotel aug.15-16-17 2013,first and last time .I was in town for the Special Olympics and this was the host hotel.Chek in was a breeze so I thought OK this could work.Not,upon arrival in my room I instantly noticed a smell,I checked the mini fridge and found rotten food.I contacted the front deck and asked for a room change,not.They sent a maid with some air freshner instead.After getting settled in I went to the lounge to meet some people,as it turns out its a local hangout,there were about 5 people in the bar all over the age of 50 power drinking,it was only 2pm.Some of the language I heard was so vulgar I couldnt believe the bar tender allowed it.Now for the unkept lobby,paint is so old its fadded,theres a hole in the wall by the elevator,the work out center was out of order.I asked for a wake up call for 6am it never came.The so called free breakfast thats served was so bad I got sick.One of the atrium windows was broke so they covered it up with a tarp.This is a place I would stay away from,How RED LION can allow their name on this place is beyond me,Hope this helps out any future travelers.

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. Our property did suffer from a Fire early this year, the blue tarp that you saw in the atrium was placed there to protect our guest and our staff until the space can be renovated, we do apologize for this inconvenience.
We are very displeased to see that you did not receive your wake up call and that there were some areas of concern regarding the cleanliness in your guest room and we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Safe Travels ,
Ginny Gil
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Get some flat screen TV's like the rest of the hotels in the country. Had 2 TV's in the room but both sucked! Maybe hand out some aspirin to the guests because they will get a headache from watching these little 19" TV's.Service was OK. Room was large. Parking free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The Red Lion Hotel Farmington appreciates all reviews good or bad. That is how we fix the wrong and better the good. Coming soon to our property will be upgraded TV's. Thank you again for your time and opinions.

Sincerely,

Lenore P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

the young lady nikki , working the front desk is very helpful and attentive. she will do whatever it takes to make your check in and stay a pleasant one. she goes above and beyond the call of duty.....ive been staying at this hotel for 5 years on a weekly basis and not once has she been rude or disrespectful... its always a pleasure checking in..... thanks a very satisfied redlion r&r platinum club member.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenore P, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Farmington, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding our guest’s expectations is what we strive for and we are happy to hear that we accomplished that. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Safe Travels

Ginny Gil
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Farmington

Address: 700 Scott Ave., Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Farmington Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Farmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Farmington is located in Farmington, New Mexico in the heart of the Southwest and in the northwest corner of New Mexico, within walking distance of the historic downtown. Farmington is in a high desert with an elevation of 5,500 feet and just 60 miles from the Four Corners National Monument. We are located in the southwest part of town, close to historic downtown Farmington and just 2.2 miles from airport. We are also with-in walking distance to many hiking trails through the valley floor and access to the nature center. Our hotel is a 192 room full service hotel complete with the Riverwalk restaurant and Rookies Sports lounge. All standard rooms offer in-room coffee, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, television, executive desk and chairs, refrigerator and microwave. Wireless internet is available throughout the facilities.The hotel offers a fitness center, the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, and a year-round indoor heated pool and whirlpool. Some of our great services also include complimentary parking, laundry and dry cleaning services and a business center services are available. Our meeting facilities include over 10,000 square feet of meeting space accommodating up to 600 people. Professional conference specialist will take care of everything including initial planning, complete audio/visual and full-service catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Farmington
Best Western Farmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Farmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.