We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay in Farmington, NM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver River Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver River Adobe Inn to your Saves list
Silver River Adobe Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3151 West Main Street, Farmington, NM 87401   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Farmington B&B and Inns
Troy, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay in Farmington, NM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We only stayed for one night, I wish it had been a week. The hosts Diane and David are wonderful.
The accommodations are genuine adobe. Great location right by a river. Then the next morning we had a breakfast that was so clean, tasty and healthful that is was a joy. A great place with great breakfast with unparalleled hosts. It made our trip.

Room Tip: My tip is.... go there and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was the most fantastic stay - we arrived tired after a long windy drive and Diana and David were so helpful and welcoming right away. This is like an oasis, right by the winding river with amazing sunset views and a hugely comfortable room and bed. Beautifully decorated, with the most delicious tasty breakfasts, including the best pancakes ever. Diana and David are immensely interesting people, fantastic hosts that talked with us for a long time about the area, about shared interests, and good tips for places to visit. It felt like a home away from home and after only 3 nights we were sorry to leave! Yes Farmington itself as a town is not so pretty maybe, but there is so much to do nearby - we went to Salmon Ruins and Aztec Ruins, a short drive away, and then there is also Chaco Canyon, Bisti Wilderness, Mesa Verde etc. There is also a lot of interesting theatre and culture in Farmington, and a very interesting place overall. Silver River was the perfect place to stay, we would want to come back again for sure, and would not stay anywhere else in the area now. We really recommend this beautiful peaceful relaxing B&B, and for those interested in the culture, past and present, this should not be missed. Thank you David & Diana, for making our stay so memorable and heartfelt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
It is ever so gratifying to read a review which informs us that we are providing a welcoming and comfortable accommodation. A grateful "Thank You" to you who make the mornings glisten with the faces of kindly persons who are interested is this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Farmington is not an escape destination, but the Silver Adobe is. My wife and I stayed here because of the close proximity to where my parents are living. It is on the edge of town, which was perfect for us, close enough to allow a short commute to activities in town, but allowing us pastoral views of the San Juan River and the vista beyond. Diana, the owner, accomodated an early breakfast, by providing a prearranged with all the requested items, before going fishing. The other breakfasts were healthful and tasty, if you enjoy Organic meals this is the place to stay. This was my second stay, and since I will be visiting Farmington frequently in the future, and the Silver Adobe will continue to be my "go to" accomodation. I will be building my visits around the availability of rooms at the Silver Adobe. I also will add, that I have stayed in the "Suite" and the "Juniper Room," and both were perfect for my wife and I. Both rooms also accomodate an additional guest for a minor additional fee, which allowed my sister to stay as well. Also, if you are a fly fisherman, you must visit the Quality Waters on the San Juan, and only an hour drive from here. It was amazing, with the beautiful Fall colors and the abundance of large Trout, that are easy to catch with the right guide. Please stay with Diana and David at the Silver Adobe, you will be rewarded with a pleasant memorable stay.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I recognize the writer of this review for the sister mentioned shared some of her new recipe for apple sauce with us which I have not managed to make, YET, though we have two bushels of local apples for such. We have enjoyed this family as returning guests and look forward to many visits which will allow us to learn more of the good natures the whole family exhibits. We were able to meet the parents this last visit and I hope to get to know them more as well. Don’t you know they have stories of creating a good life with a few stories of struggle from which they rose to new heights. Their children are delightful and engaging which suggests something marvelous took place in the family home supporting the growth of gentle souls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeagle, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First, do follow the owners' advise and call for directions! Being a bit stubborn, we had to try it ourselves with our GPS, and ended up four miles down the road. The setting is calm, the house is beautiful, and the views of the river were an added plus. At night, we could see the distant lights and the moonlight reflecting off the river - a very romantic setting. We greatly appreciated the attitude toward pets (pet-friendly with advanced notice). The owners are warm and inviting and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations. What appealed to us the most was the truly green accommodations and the incredible breakfast. It was amazing: fresh, abundant, and a richness of flavors - and because it was very healthy we didn't feel too guilty for having seconds!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you, Thank you! We do attempt to create or to or at least not to detract from the peace and calm of which you wrote. Naturally, and not meant as a pun here, we are not really responsible for the special effects of the moon shining on the river. The biggest pay back for us is the gentle souls who come to our B&B sharing part of themselves and their world with us.
It is also a pay back to learn that you found the breakfast to be healthy noticing that we use organic and locally grown foods when possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is beautiful. The room was lovely, however there were some oddities like a concrete base right inside the bathroom door that I ripped my toenail on.
A small B & B, with different room configurations. Our room had one narrow window next to the door that opened to a shared outside entryway for the room that ran along the river. Privacy was spotty, and the other windows faced the shed across the narrow walkway.
Most distressing was that when we arrived the office was closed, there was not any note, and no one answered any of the 3 phone numbers that were given. Eventually the manager was found, but this confusion about needing a specific time of arrival soured the experience.
Instead of worrying about negotiating breakfast we left in the morning and ate downtown.
Felt like the management's convenience was more important than the comfort of the guests.
Turned out just to be a place to spend the night, rather than the peaceful retreat that the website implied.

Room Tip: Ask the management for specifics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We certainly regret that you found our service less than what you deserved. David and Diana do operate a small B&B beginning the day by offering breakfasts between the hours of 7am and 9am which must then be begun by 5:30am. Most mornings the clean up after cooking, serving breakfast with time for conversation and directions if needed plus the sharing of stories and information about our area means the kitchen is often not finished before 11am. Then there are the rooms to turn, laundry to manage, computer and accounts to finish and perhaps an errand to run. These are the tasks which make it nearly a necessity to schedule the time of arrival for greeting our guests. On our web site and included in the confirmation which we send and at the front door we publish the check in time to be between 4pm and 7pm. I might add that often guests may become lost or have taken the wrong route or made an error in judgement of the time required to arrive at our B&B which requires us to be vigilant until late hours. Perhaps I was having a bad hair day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

LOVED!! My new husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We were welcomed graciously by our friendly hostess. The room was very comfortable and the whole place had a calm and peaceful presence. Our room overlooked the river and at night we had an amazing view of the moon reflecting the water. In the morning we had an incredible breakfast creation (local and organic) and a beautiful and insightful conversation with our hosts. Afterwards we took a nice quiet walk from the grounds to a nearby park with access to the river bank. This is a new found favorite for us and we will definitely return. Loved it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
With this writing I am sending the wish of a long and happy marriage which necessarily includes a hope for much personal growth. One of our continued goals is to present our B&B as a peaceful place where one can feel connected to the quite yet vibrant natural world along the San Juan River corridor. It is good to learn that you enjoyed the peace and the river environment. When we see you next it is my hope you will have stories about your honeymoon to share with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time with Diane and David. Not sure about some of the comments below about the wifi not working in the room (mine worked fine), drinking water quality (thought it was very good), and bad breakfasts (I had three corn and chile pancakes which were fantastic and unique). Was there alone but wish my wife would have been with me, romantic place. Lovely walk to the river and the north and south plazas was just the thing to clear out the cobwebs after a 500 mile drive. Would like to return one day when I can take advantage of all the area, and Diane and David, have to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and mention a few amenities which worked well during your stay. Our chef is most delighted that you found the Harvest Pancakes with local corn, local chilies and local peaches a satisfying meal for breakfast. We also wish your wife could have accompanied you on this trip. Look forward to your return in the hoped for future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver River Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Adobe Inn

Address: 3151 West Main Street, Farmington, NM 87401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver River Adobe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver River Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver River Adobe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.