We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pinon Hills Golf Course

Pinon Hills Golf Course
2101 Sunrise Pkwy, Farmington, NM 87401
505 326 6066
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Farmington
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A mixed bag.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have played Pinon Hills on several occasions over the years and enjoyed it but a recent golf outing has changed that. Before teeing off we went into Grill on the Hill to grab something to drink and eat. The absolute rudeness of the lady working was unbelievable. She made it known that it was an inconvenience that we asked a question and then placed an order. Also, watching her handle our food and petting a dog without washing her hands was a little much. But trying not to let that ruin our day we headed out on the course. Things got worse. For 17 holes there was a group of 6 golfers 2 groups in front of us that refused to let anyone play through despite the gap in front of them. I don't mind if a course allows a group bigger than a foursome to go out but they should at least use common golf course etiquette and allow faster groups to play through. This was not a weekend round and having to wait 5-10 minutes between shots certainly ruined the round. Apparently the "good old boys" feel like they own the course and do not want others to support the golf course.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just An Excellent Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pinon Hills continues to be a wonderful play to play golf - and a superb value, too. Its somewhat remote location is a blessing and a curse: great for Four Corners area golfers, but not easy for outsiders to get to on their way to some place else. Hold on, i guess that second part is still a blessing for us locals! Fine shot values, very good conditioning, Dye-abolically undulating greens, desert punishment for wayward shots. #2 on my NM list, behind only Black Mesa.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best public courses you can play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pinon Hills is an excellent course for the money. You will be hard pressed to find a better course for the dollar. I have played many overpriced courses and couldn't help but think, "I'd rather play Pinon Hills." The Grill On The Hill is a good place to grab a burger or sandwich. It's worth the trip if you love golf and can appreciate a great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This golf course is located in NW New Mexico at Farmington. It is an 18-hiole, par 72 course. It was constructed and opened in 1989. For many years, it was rated as the #5 municipal golf course in New Mexico. It is over 7200 yards from the pro tees. Every hole has at least 5 tee boxes that change daily. Many holes have 6-10 tee boxes that challenge every playing ability. Tee prices are very reasonable, ranging from $30-$40, cart included. I live in Farmington and have played this course since its beginning and every day is another challenge. You will love this course.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pinon Hills golf and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

While my wife was on a painting trip to Santa Fe, I played golf at Pinon Hills 3 days. Easy to get on as a solo golfer. Great golf course and very reasonable ( about $30 for 18 holes).

Don't miss the pinon burger - a great example of a genuine New Mexico green chile burger.

Visited about 2004.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinon Hills Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Pinon Hills Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinon Hills Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.