We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tequilas

Tequilas
601 E Broadway, Farmington, NM 87401-7111
505-327-6900
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 112 Restaurants in Farmington
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A welcome oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best margarita I have tasted in a long time. huge and pricey but worth it. Food is wonderful and authentic. The service is spotty, communications with weak English speaking staff. The food, drink and atmosphere more than make up for this minor weakness. Great meals and drinks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    34
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirtland, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the molcajete for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I shared a molcajete for two which was very unique. Great meat and fish selection in a steaming hit molcajete delivered to the table. Salsa was good. Friendly enough servers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good and a reasonable price! It is located close to the hotel district. Margaritas are good, the food is even better! Service was a little slow, but what are you in a hurry for?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food at Regions Inn Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. I had been craving some Mexican food after leaving Navajo country and found this restaurant in the hotel where I was staying. I especially liked there salsa, which was made in-house, which was readily served in a decanter with chips when you first sit down. Many Mexican restaurants are a little skimpy with their salsa, but not this one. The flavor and texture was good with just enough heat.

f you want a margarita, this is the place. Get their "Best Margarita" which is made from scratch and not a mix, which is so common today. Most Mexican restaurant margaritas taste more like a tart lemonade with very little Tequila. Not this one. It is made with fresh squeezed lemon juice and included a section of lemon and orange in the glass. The result was a good flavor and after two of them, I can safely say you get real tequila.

I stayed in the Regions Inn two nights and at the restaurant both nights. The first night I had a combination platter that was good, but not a lot better than average. The second night I was more adventurous and tried a seafood dish that included shrimp, scallops, crab, and octopus with onions and other vegetables over a bed of rice. It was outstanding. It was a substantial portion too and was served with warm tortillas. I ate too much it tasted so good. The servers were also very attentive, frequently checking to see if you needed more water, or anything else.

I highly recommend trying this restaurant if you are in the mood for Mexican food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great molcajeta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ate the molcajeta for two today! Wow! Great spice and abundant meat. Table side chips and salsa were kept replenished and were flavorful. The wait staff were attentive but not exceptionally friendly. Food is awesome but I was unhappy that the guacamole we ordered to go with our chips was about five tablespoons worth and cost $3. Just stick with the free salsa. Meals are pricey ($28 for molcajete) but large portions and served with yummy, hot rice and beans.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequilas also viewed

 

Been to Tequilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.