We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take time to explore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness

Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness
NCM Road 7297, Farmington, NM 87401
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take time to explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Amazing otherwordly place, a real wilderness experience. Can be easy to get lost, so we recommend going there on a guided tour with the people at Salmon Ruins "Into the Past" tours

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Like seeing another world (Bisti)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I like the way the badlands look and I have seen a few but Bisti is by far the best looking and more to offer in what to see. Even though it is large, take alot of water and enjoy what you see.....especially the "wings" and "cracked eggs" sections......I have not seen anything like those and I have traveled almost all of my life. You wont be disappointed!!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Surreal landscape everywhere around you- you'll think you're on another planet. We spent a couple hours climbing the hills and taking in the beauty. The hoodoos in the area are really cool. I've been here twice and definitely recommend parking in the area that isn't labeled. The northern approach is via a less-used track (county road 7293), forking off NM 371 just south of milepost 73 and joining road 7000 near the remains of a settlement associated with the old Bisti Trading Post. The closest parking area is a short distance northeast, on mud flats beside the fence marking the wilderness boundary. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bisti Badlands should be on your must see, must hike list! With roughly 60 square miles to explore, you can visit often and never see the same thing twice. I have been exploring the Bisti for years now and am continually surprised by it's unique beauty and ability to recharge my soul. Nothing like a breathtaking sunrise, unique landscapes and massive blue skies to set things right! Water, camera, sunscreen, GPS or compass and desire to explore are essential. We were a bit intimidated at first as the area is remote and cell phone service is patchy at best - but quickly learned that common sense and exploring out and back from the wash will keep you from getting lost until you feel more adventurous.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voecklabruck, Austria
Level Contributor
528 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 842 helpful votes
“Hoodoos and deserted badlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness area covers roughly 60 square miles of remote badlands south of Farmington, New Mexico. Bisti is the smaller component of a wilderness area that includes also the much larger De-Na-Zin Wildeness. They are administered by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM).

Little visited and largely unknown, the Bisti Badlands is an amazingly scenic and colorful expanse of undulating mounds and unusual eroded rocks. Visitors may think this is an alien planet, but it is a landscape like no other. The elements have created unusual formations in this otherwise barren landscape, formations that are as bizarre as they are incredibly beautiful, like the numerous hoodoos or the "Cracked Eggs".

The wilderness was once a coastal swamp of an inland sea and it was home to many large trees, reptiles, dinosaurs and primitive mammals. Today visitors find a true and isolated desert. There are no marked trails and it easy to get confused or lost. A GPS is really helpful, because most hikes are 2 to 5 miles round trip.

When visiting Bisti in summer the best time to travel is in the early morning, because in July starts the annual monsoon season with daily thunderstorm at afternoon. And when muddy the way back to the trailhead is very difficult.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.