We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the Original in Durango” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Bar-B-Q

Serious Texas Bar-B-Q
3475 E Main Street, Farmington, NM 87401
505-327-9889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 104 Restaurants in Farmington
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as the Original in Durango”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Was disappointed after several great meals in Durango's location.

They must be cooking in batches so if you don't get there at normal meal times. It is going to be dried out from sitting too long. The Meyers Elgin sausages are just plain awesome!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really finger-lickin' good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pulled pork best in town. Ribs and brisket have good smoke line. Choice of sauces. Counter service by the pound. Servers sweet and attentive. Lost points for no fries on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously good pork Bar-B-Que”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is so fast and easy to get your food here ... I always get the Texas Taco, a tortilla, loads of pork, cheesy tots, and jalapeno - hold the onions. Their special sauce in on the table and you can have as much as you like. I can rarely finish my taco it is so big.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is real good BBQ. The pulled pork sandwich is one of the best I've had. Great fall off the bone ribs seasoned to perfection. Sides are all good and the sweet tea is very good. I think about this place when I'm back in Montana, it's so good and every trip I make to Farmington it's one of our first stops. I even bring it back to my motel room and stick it in the fridge 'for later'. This is for anyone that likes real bbq and maybe even those that don't it could change their minds. BBQ is not my husbands favorite food and even he likes it and wants to go there. So that has to mean it's something special. Who cares how you get it, in tubs, in paper, formal, informal just get it. : )
We visited over Thanksgiving and the day after we stopped in, they were closed, I was sooo disappointed. But then I saw it would be open the next day, needless to say we stayed another day just for the BBQ. Now that's good bbq.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The is Correct... Serious Texas BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Interesting joint. You order at the front, they weight the meat in front of you. Sauce is on the table. The brisket was excellent, had a nice smoke line in it. The pork ribs were excellent, nice smoke line and very meaty. The pulled pork was good. The Sausage was good. The place overall is very clean, but the sides are limited, bagged chips, beans, potato salad and coleslaw. We only tried the coleslaw it was nice but a bit odd, it obviously had a touch of pepper or heat of some sort. Overall very pleasant. It is a meet eaters paradise, no carbs to fill you up just the good stuff.....Dead Red, nicely smoked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.