We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Mexican Food, Friendly Service, Casual Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Rios Cafe

Los Rios Cafe
915 Farmington Ave, Farmington, NM 87401-7475
505-325-5699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 117 Restaurants in Farmington
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: 505-325-5699
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great New Mexican Food, Friendly Service, Casual Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We live in Minnesota, but my wife is from Farmington. There isn't any good Mexican food in Minnesota and certainly not any New Mexican food, so we need to get our fill when we visit family. Los Rios is the family favorite. We always get great food with excellent service. The decor is nothing special, but that is what makes it casual and nice for families.

Helpful?
1 Thank EVDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manitou Springs CO
Level Contributor
174 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch about 15 minutes before they were going to close. The food was very good. I had a bean burrito with green chili and my husband had a chicken burrito with green chili. Both meals were very good. The green chili was great. The sopapillas were wonderful. The only problem was tat the food was so hot (temperature not spicy) when it arrived I couldn't eat it for a few minutes. The service was good and the food was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the food at Los Rios - we travel to Farmington a few times a year and ALWAYS stop here at least once. If you are looking for wonderful New Mexican cuisine, this is your place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZRoadHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good New Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Los Rios is the best place in Farmington for New Mexican food. My gripe is that carne adovada is not served every day. But my biggest problem is how much they charge for fountain drinks! I think the last time I was in there the drinks were $4! If I pay $4 for a drink, there better be a micro brew in that glass! So, if you can get over being gouged for fountain drinks, the food is quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 505NewMexican505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love the Food Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of the best New Mexican food joints you can find! There are others in town but this is one of my favorites and I find myself coming back here time and time again. It is snuck back in a little shopping plaza so it can be easy to miss driving by but you need to find it! It started off small then grew enough to buy the expansion next door and doubled it's size. Been coming here since I was able to drive :)

I love the green chile sauce and the chicken enchiladas are one of my all-time favorites. I hope that the tuesday special with the creamy-green-chile-enchilada sauce is still available cause it rocks me!

Note, the salsa can be quite hot so be prepared if you aren't a seasoned chile fan. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Rios Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Los Rios Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing