We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Rios Cafe

Los Rios Cafe
915 Farmington Ave, Farmington, NM 87401-7475
505-325-5699
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 106 Restaurants in Farmington
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: 505-325-5699
Manitou Springs CO
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch about 15 minutes before they were going to close. The food was very good. I had a bean burrito with green chili and my husband had a chicken burrito with green chili. Both meals were very good. The green chili was great. The sopapillas were wonderful. The only problem was tat the food was so hot (temperature not spicy) when it arrived I couldn't eat it for a few minutes. The service was good and the food was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the food at Los Rios - we travel to Farmington a few times a year and ALWAYS stop here at least once. If you are looking for wonderful New Mexican cuisine, this is your place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good New Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Los Rios is the best place in Farmington for New Mexican food. My gripe is that carne adovada is not served every day. But my biggest problem is how much they charge for fountain drinks! I think the last time I was in there the drinks were $4! If I pay $4 for a drink, there better be a micro brew in that glass! So, if you can get over being gouged for fountain drinks, the food is quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love the Food Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of the best New Mexican food joints you can find! There are others in town but this is one of my favorites and I find myself coming back here time and time again. It is snuck back in a little shopping plaza so it can be easy to miss driving by but you need to find it! It started off small then grew enough to buy the expansion next door and doubled it's size. Been coming here since I was able to drive :)

I love the green chile sauce and the chicken enchiladas are one of my all-time favorites. I hope that the tuesday special with the creamy-green-chile-enchilada sauce is still available cause it rocks me!

Note, the salsa can be quite hot so be prepared if you aren't a seasoned chile fan. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New Mexican Food with a local flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The overall selection was basic, but the quality of the chicken and beef fillings was very good. Most dishes come with their "signature" sopapillas that were unlike anything I have ever had at a Mexican restaurant. This is a great local stop, nice and casual with a friendly staff. Highly recommend a stop here for local flavor!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Rios Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Los Rios Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Rios Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.