We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Neat and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Farmington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Farmington to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Farmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Sierra Vista Drive, Farmington, NM 87402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient, Neat and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everything about this hotel is positive - with one teeny tiny exception - The breakfast muffins are yukky and the morning coffee isnt too great either.
The check-in, service, cleanliness, decor, convenience, kitchen facilities are top notch. We arrived on Thanksgiving Eve and we were told that there would be minimal srvice to the room the next morning since it was Thanksgiving. We were asked what would be required for our needs. We requested just clean towels and the beds made. Pleasantly surprised when we returned to our room, it had received a complete clean.

Room Tip: our room was a bit close to the elevator, but the noise it caused was really minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
32
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed this hotel and I'll begin by stating the reasons why I enjoyed it followed by the reasons why I did not give it 5 stars. The good: The staff were very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. They were flexible about their already generous check in and check out times and always seemed ready and eager to help. The 24/7 tea and coffee in the lobby is awesome touch. I can't say enough about the impeccable selection of hot teas they stocked and most were decaffeinated too. Extremely comfortable beds and pillows as well as modern, well appointed rooms. Free newspapers is always pleasant and the exercise room was better than most with free weights up to 50 lbs. The property is new and is in an excellent state repair and cleanliness (despite the fact that they allow pets.)

Things that could be improved: the breakfast - the selection was good with a couple of great extras like fresh salsa, but the overall quality was just average. The eggs were barely edible and there weren't any breakfast potatoes or fresh fruit except bananas. The cereal selection was good and the breakfast pastries and bread were of average quality at best. Also, there weren't any to-go containers for the oatmeal, (toppings included: crushed walnuts, cinnamon, brown sugar, and raisins.) which was by far the best item they served.

I was surprised about how small the rooms seemed considering they are suites. My room (1 king bed) was just the normal size of a regular hotel room. They kind of cram everything in there, but it was efficient and effective. The kitchen appliances, most notably the microwave, are of high quality. My bathroom was very nice and spacious, but there were a couple of minor annoyances. First off, the towels were of low quality. Also, the soap dishes (there are two stacked on top of one another) in the shower are in an awkward place in the corner of the shower next to the handle. When bending down to adjust the water temperature its very easy to bang your head (like I did) when standing back up.

Also, the property is located in the newest area of town away from the other hotels and is within walking distance or a short drive to the mall, Albertsons (also has the cheapest gas in town), Olive Garden, Outback, Chili's and several other restaurants as well as banks and a Verizon store. It's location is north east on the route towards Durango. While this is convenient - it can also be inconvenient depending on whether you are traveling locally during your stay. For instance, I drove to Shiprock and let me tell you I counted 29 red lights I passed through just to get to the other side of town. I would have preferred a more centralized location closer to downtown (about a 10 - 12 minute drive.) Also, the parking at the hotel is kind of tight. The spots in the front fill up fast and they are small.

Honestly, I still would have given the hotel a 5 star rating except for one very important reason - the hotel room doors slam hard when they close. It seems like this was done purposely for safety reasons, but it definitely affects sleep quality. Unless you are very conscious about standing there to make sure your door doesn't slam shut then it is going to bang hard. You can practically hear it happening on the floors below you. It only woke me up once during my two night stay (I wear ear plugs) so it really wasn't a huge issue but it was disconcerting.

Other than that, awesome property and I enjoyed an excellent rate (thanks Marriott) and most likely will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have a pretty big family. Usually finding a hotel that has the space for our family is very difficult. The TownPlace had the room. We stayed in the two bedroom suite and were very impressed. It had two bedrooms, three tv's, a kitchenette, and plenty of room. The rest of the hotel was also extremely nice. I immediately went to marriot and signed up for their rewards program. Greta hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After spending a few nights staying in Day's Inn or Comfort Inns it's always nice to check into a Marriott property. I have always liked these newish Towneplace Suites. The rooms are very nice and well appointed. The beds are great. The staff has received some training (as opposed to most American "motels" were the management seems to just hire anyone who walks through the door). The breakfast had eggs, sausage and biscuts in addition to the usual stuff, so I don't understand any criticism of what is presented. This is a perfectly solid choice for anyone staying in the Farmington area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We had an overnight stay here and enjoyed it. The bed was a bit firm for our likes, but great pillows and blankets. The decor is great! The kitchen is really nice and fully appointed. The bathroom had a passthrough closet that runs from the kitchen/entrance. The room was quiet and tasteful. The sofa was comfortable as was the chair at the desk. Great storage. I would highly recommend this for a week or more stay. The only downside is the breakfast. It's standard powdered eggs/sausage/waffle Marriott breakfast. But even that filled a hole and I wasn't hungry afterwards.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster, md
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spent six days @ the Four Corners and used this as our base. Very nice hotel. Breakfast good and 100 yards from an Outback. Easy day trips to the sites. Farmington an OK city. Mesa Verde a must as is Monument Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an extended stay hotel. Its new, so i wasn't surprised that it cost a quite a bit more than surrounding hotels. I was willing to pay more because it was right where i wanted to stay. For the price i was expecting more. The rooms are very small. Ive stayed at MainStay suites for half the price and had much more room. If you don't need a small fridge, a microwave, dishwasher, and cooktop then stay at a regular hotel for less money. Even worse, the area taken up by the small kitchen area took away room from the sleeping area. They added a kitchen area and crammed it into the space of a regular hotel room. Housekeeping service was dismal. I returned one day to find old coffee cups lying around. I left one day at noon and returned late to find the room not cleaned at all! When i called to complain the front desk staff told me the housekeepers "left at noon" and if i wanted housekeeping that i should have notified the front desk. Don't wast your money here. Its worth about $60/night. The hotel manager offered me a $25 credit for the housekeeping "miscommunication". I told her that wasn't worth the time and energy it took me to argue with her and the front desk manager.

Room Tip: choose a lower floor that you can take the stairs. There is only one SLOW elevator servicing 4 floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Farmington

Address: 4200 Sierra Vista Drive, Farmington, NM 87402
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Farmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Farmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.