We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the stop for an amazing respite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5001 Antelope Junction, Farmington, NM 87401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Farmington B&B and Inns
colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“worth the stop for an amazing respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

i booked this for our anniversary after seeing it on one of trip advisors top 10 lists. the last bit of the drive to the cave felt like a four wheel drive road. we had a camper on the back of our pickup truck. we backpacked our overnight bag for the hike down the side of the mountain to the cave entrance. it is nice to have hands free. the hike is short enough to run back to the car if you forgot something (like the wine). the cave is basically a condo built inside the mountain with all the comforts you could ask for. i have never seen anything like it. it's fascinating. it was a special occasion for us so we ordered the catered food by chef marc (recommended by koko staff) that was a GREAT decision. the food was beautiful, and all we had to do was heat it. it was such a treat! we had the soup at the dining table by the kiva, the appetizers on the balcony with wine and sunset, the entrée back inside. i saved my dessert for breakfast. the food was delicious--can't say that enough. i would highly recommend it. there was so much leftovers, we packaged it, put it in our camper and ate gourmet meals the rest of our camp trip. i ordered vegan, my husband did not. the chef was very accommodating. the climate control inside the cave made it very quiet and comfortable for rest. there is room for kids with the sofa and futon in the living area. it's very romantic but i can see this as a fun family get away also. the staff had a little surprise for our anniversary waiting for us. we were a little late leaving because we wanted to leave a painted rock (tradition). the cleaning gal kathy arrived right at 1100. she was sweet and offered to take a few pictures for us before we left. we would definitely stay again if we have the opportunity...i would track down chef marc at cometothefeast.com and eat his food any day

Room Tip: book early, they fill their calendar. we wanted to change the date about 2 months out but there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Finding this listing on TripAdvisor was the result of my wife's request that I “find somewhere unique” for us to stay at the end of our hiking trip to NW New Mexico and SE Utah. This fit the bill. Looking in the Farmington B&B and Inns listings, I found Koko's Cave, though it probably should be listed under Specialty Lodging. I'm just glad I found it and that it was available on a date that meshed with our schedule. While it may seem pricey at around $300 per night, it is well worth the price for the unique accommodations provided. As a man-made cave some 70 feet below the rim of a cliff and a few hundred feet above the valley below, it is a spacious, luxurious, fully furnished lodging with 1700 feet of living area that includes a bedroom with a king size bed, a living area with a futon, sofa, chairs, working TV (with 6 or 7 channels), dining area, kitchen, bathroom with waterfall shower, and an outdoor patio overlooking the valley below. Without a doubt, the most unique place we have ever stayed on all of our many trips over the last few years. Reading about the history of the cave and the challenges of its construction and then to see the finished product was impressive to say the least. Gayle, the manager, met us as we approached Farmington and led us to the parking area above the cave. She was friendly, welcoming, and gave us a very informative tour of the cave and its facilities. Food is provided for breakfast as well as facilities for cooking dinner if you so desire and want to bring the fixings, including a gas grill outside. Cold cuts are provided for sandwich making as well as many other items in the well-stocked refrigerator. A complimentary bottle of wine is also provided. The road all the way to the parking area above the cave is best negotiated with a high clearance vehicle though a regular car should have no problem in good weather, making it to the larger upper parking area that is just a short walk to the path leading to the cave. The short trail from the cliff top to the cave entrance is narrow in places and does require some effort but anyone in reasonably good shape should have no problem. Very highly recommended!!

Room Tip: You automatically get the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
497 reviews 497 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

When Colorado Jim booked us into Kokapelli’s Cave for the third night of our Dumb & Dumber V buddy trip, I had two main concerns: (1) Would an acrophobic guy like me be able to negotiate the steep stairs on that cliff face?; and (2) Would a claustrophobic guy like me find the place too cramped and dark and dank to tolerate? Boy, was I ever glad when the answers turned out to be, respectively, a much-relieved “yes!” and a resounding “No!”. The access, though not quite idiot-proof, is safe to negotiate. The interior is nicely lit, very well furnished, and not at all cramped. We were amazed at the conveniences. Everything was great except the shower. Though the grotto-like shower was gorgeous, it required enormous patience to get the control to work right.

Kokapelli’s Cave is one of the most interesting places I’ve ever visited, and the hands-down winner for uniqueness among the B & B’s I’ve patronized. I don’t begrudge one cent of the hefty fee we paid for the privilege of spending the night there.

If I’m fortunate enough to pay a return visit, I will do the following: (1) Cook steaks and sweet corn again on that propane grill, and this time eat it on the terrace outside; (2) Remember to put some critter feed out for nocturnal visitors (we forgot, so I never saw a coati); (3) Buy another “I Survived Kokopelli’s Cave” T-shirt (very good quality); and (4) hide a little memento in a secret place for some other visitor to discover (people who’ve visited will know what I mean). Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This cave was on top of our Bucket List for 2014! We stayed 2 nights & left wanting more. Please note this B & B is a SECLUDED luxurious cave. Batman's cave was hidden & so is this one. Getting there is an adventure but once there, you wont want to leave. Unlike primative cave men, this cave has lots of extras. If you're ok with some Off Roading & a short hike, this place is worth the journey!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in the cave two nights last weekend. Wow! Getting to the cave is an experience. Gayle guides you in because there is no way you would find it any other way. The hike down to the cave and back up to your car is a little crazy with an 8 year old. Fine if you aren't carrying anything but don't make the mistake we made and bring a big cooler because it is not that kind of a trail. Think of it as a rugged mountain goat type of trail - particularly in the spring New Mexico wind. Also agree with other reviews - your car needs to have some clearance in order to get there and a 4 wheel drive would be good if it rains.

Having said that, the cave itself is beautiful. The kitchen was great. There is a washer and dryer though old so they discourage heavy use - but nice if you have something you need to dry or freshen up. Lots of space for the three of us. We brought our own DVDs and the CD selection really suited the place. My son LOVED the adventure. Lots of critters to feed on the balconies and Gayle encouraged the practice and showed my son the protocol. Beautiful sunset. Lots of hiking right there where we found tons of petrified wood. If you are a rock person, you have to visit this place.

I over packed on food - tons of condiments and basics so bring whatever you might want on top of that but know that the basics are all covered (milk, butter, syrup, pancake mix, drinks, bread and any condiment you might want if you bring burgers to grill).

No there is no wifi - no the movie selection isn't great - but the cell phone signal is solid, we brought our own movies and we were exhausted from hiking all day so we didn't care. Our son brought his metal detector while hiking above the cave and it was a ton of fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is an accommodation like no other. Amazing that a cave can be so welcoming -- lights, waterfall shower, great little kitchen, comfortable beds. And the views are spectacular -- we saw four corners (sights in AZ, CO, and UT) without having to drive the extra hours to get there.
The drive on dirt roads was easy in our rental car. The Albertsons grocery store in Farmington had a good selection of groceries for cooking dinner.
Seeing the little animals come to feed on the patio was a highlight for the kids. Seeing the stars was a highlight for the parents -- incredible views in dark skies.
Gayle's welcome was warm, thorough, and professional. She helped us be well provisioned for a night in a one-of-a-kind locale. Thanks Gayle!

Room Tip: Best advice (which we followed) was to leave suitcases in the car and to instead carry in only small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We only had one night at Kokopelli's Cave, and although it's rather expensive for us, we thought, "Well, it's a once in a lifetime experience, so we'll splurge." Now we can hardly wait to go back, perhaps for a longer stay. It's definitely not for the weak of heart or ankles, and we appreciated the advice to pack backpacks instead of suitcases for the climb up and down. Our Subaru was the perfect vehicle for the drive in, too, and we would recommend an AWD or 4WD vehicle. Thanks and kudos to the Blacks, Gail, and the housekeeper for making it a wonderful place and welcoming us so warmly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5001 Antelope Junction, Farmington, NM 87401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Cave Hotel Farmington
Kokopelli Cave b&b
Kokopelli Cave b And b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.