We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Find somewhere unique” she said.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5001 Antelope Junction, Farmington, NM 87401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Farmington B&B and Inns
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“"Find somewhere unique” she said.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Finding this listing on TripAdvisor was the result of my wife's request that I “find somewhere unique” for us to stay at the end of our hiking trip to NW New Mexico and SE Utah. This fit the bill. Looking in the Farmington B&B and Inns listings, I found Koko's Cave, though it probably should be listed under Specialty Lodging. I'm just glad I found it and that it was available on a date that meshed with our schedule. While it may seem pricey at around $300 per night, it is well worth the price for the unique accommodations provided. As a man-made cave some 70 feet below the rim of a cliff and a few hundred feet above the valley below, it is a spacious, luxurious, fully furnished lodging with 1700 feet of living area that includes a bedroom with a king size bed, a living area with a futon, sofa, chairs, working TV (with 6 or 7 channels), dining area, kitchen, bathroom with waterfall shower, and an outdoor patio overlooking the valley below. Without a doubt, the most unique place we have ever stayed on all of our many trips over the last few years. Reading about the history of the cave and the challenges of its construction and then to see the finished product was impressive to say the least. Gayle, the manager, met us as we approached Farmington and led us to the parking area above the cave. She was friendly, welcoming, and gave us a very informative tour of the cave and its facilities. Food is provided for breakfast as well as facilities for cooking dinner if you so desire and want to bring the fixings, including a gas grill outside. Cold cuts are provided for sandwich making as well as many other items in the well-stocked refrigerator. A complimentary bottle of wine is also provided. The road all the way to the parking area above the cave is best negotiated with a high clearance vehicle though a regular car should have no problem in good weather, making it to the larger upper parking area that is just a short walk to the path leading to the cave. The short trail from the cliff top to the cave entrance is narrow in places and does require some effort but anyone in reasonably good shape should have no problem. Very highly recommended!!

Room Tip: You automatically get the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
632 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

When Colorado Jim booked us into Kokapelli’s Cave for the third night of our Dumb & Dumber V buddy trip, I had two main concerns: (1) Would an acrophobic guy like me be able to negotiate the steep stairs on that cliff face?; and (2) Would a claustrophobic guy like me find the place too cramped and dark and dank to tolerate? Boy, was I ever glad when the answers turned out to be, respectively, a much-relieved “yes!” and a resounding “No!”. The access, though not quite idiot-proof, is safe to negotiate. The interior is nicely lit, very well furnished, and not at all cramped. We were amazed at the conveniences. Everything was great except the shower. Though the grotto-like shower was gorgeous, it required enormous patience to get the control to work right.

Kokapelli’s Cave is one of the most interesting places I’ve ever visited, and the hands-down winner for uniqueness among the B & B’s I’ve patronized. I don’t begrudge one cent of the hefty fee we paid for the privilege of spending the night there.

If I’m fortunate enough to pay a return visit, I will do the following: (1) Cook steaks and sweet corn again on that propane grill, and this time eat it on the terrace outside; (2) Remember to put some critter feed out for nocturnal visitors (we forgot, so I never saw a coati); (3) Buy another “I Survived Kokopelli’s Cave” T-shirt (very good quality); and (4) hide a little memento in a secret place for some other visitor to discover (people who’ve visited will know what I mean). Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This cave was on top of our Bucket List for 2014! We stayed 2 nights & left wanting more. Please note this B & B is a SECLUDED luxurious cave. Batman's cave was hidden & so is this one. Getting there is an adventure but once there, you wont want to leave. Unlike primative cave men, this cave has lots of extras. If you're ok with some Off Roading & a short hike, this place is worth the journey!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in the cave two nights last weekend. Wow! Getting to the cave is an experience. Gayle guides you in because there is no way you would find it any other way. The hike down to the cave and back up to your car is a little crazy with an 8 year old. Fine if you aren't carrying anything but don't make the mistake we made and bring a big cooler because it is not that kind of a trail. Think of it as a rugged mountain goat type of trail - particularly in the spring New Mexico wind. Also agree with other reviews - your car needs to have some clearance in order to get there and a 4 wheel drive would be good if it rains.

Having said that, the cave itself is beautiful. The kitchen was great. There is a washer and dryer though old so they discourage heavy use - but nice if you have something you need to dry or freshen up. Lots of space for the three of us. We brought our own DVDs and the CD selection really suited the place. My son LOVED the adventure. Lots of critters to feed on the balconies and Gayle encouraged the practice and showed my son the protocol. Beautiful sunset. Lots of hiking right there where we found tons of petrified wood. If you are a rock person, you have to visit this place.

I over packed on food - tons of condiments and basics so bring whatever you might want on top of that but know that the basics are all covered (milk, butter, syrup, pancake mix, drinks, bread and any condiment you might want if you bring burgers to grill).

No there is no wifi - no the movie selection isn't great - but the cell phone signal is solid, we brought our own movies and we were exhausted from hiking all day so we didn't care. Our son brought his metal detector while hiking above the cave and it was a ton of fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is an accommodation like no other. Amazing that a cave can be so welcoming -- lights, waterfall shower, great little kitchen, comfortable beds. And the views are spectacular -- we saw four corners (sights in AZ, CO, and UT) without having to drive the extra hours to get there.
The drive on dirt roads was easy in our rental car. The Albertsons grocery store in Farmington had a good selection of groceries for cooking dinner.
Seeing the little animals come to feed on the patio was a highlight for the kids. Seeing the stars was a highlight for the parents -- incredible views in dark skies.
Gayle's welcome was warm, thorough, and professional. She helped us be well provisioned for a night in a one-of-a-kind locale. Thanks Gayle!

Room Tip: Best advice (which we followed) was to leave suitcases in the car and to instead carry in only small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We only had one night at Kokopelli's Cave, and although it's rather expensive for us, we thought, "Well, it's a once in a lifetime experience, so we'll splurge." Now we can hardly wait to go back, perhaps for a longer stay. It's definitely not for the weak of heart or ankles, and we appreciated the advice to pack backpacks instead of suitcases for the climb up and down. Our Subaru was the perfect vehicle for the drive in, too, and we would recommend an AWD or 4WD vehicle. Thanks and kudos to the Blacks, Gail, and the housekeeper for making it a wonderful place and welcoming us so warmly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. It was so peaceful and comfortable! Love the waterfall shower. Enjoyed the art work from the guests previously stayed there. We walked around in the afternoon on the second day, and took some great pictures. Wish we could stay longer. If you go, make sure you take backpack or a bag you can carry on your shoulder, because you will need a free hand to hold the rail. It is not bad at all to walk up and down without any luggage, but carrying a heavy bag can indeed make the difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington hotels
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Farmington
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 24 in Farmington
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Farmington / Bloomfield
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 24 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5001 Antelope Junction, Farmington, NM 87401
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Cave Hotel Farmington
Kokopelli Cave b&b
Kokopelli Cave b And b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokopelli Cave Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.