We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   604-B S Riverside Drive, Espanola, NM 87532 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Alamosa, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My stay was terrible. They had teenagers working at the desk. I never once saw a manager. My internet went out and the front desk did not offer any solutions. The location and building looks like a run down bar in the ghetto. The rooms are the same. Cigarette burns and holes in the bed spread. At night they lock the front door and you have to ring a bell for them to let you in. The card reader was broken on the back door so you had to walk all the way around to the front. I told them I was a choice privaleges member and that I needed a late check out. I had to talk to three different people before I could get a late check out approved. Never go to this place. And mind you this is a franchise Comfort Inn hotel by Choice Hotels. Choice Hotels needs to look at this immediately. A motel 6 would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    14
    15
    10
See reviews for
10
16
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I debated about the rating between average and very good. Since it had all the elements we were looking for - good location, good price, clean rooms, and ample parking for a trailer, I went with a "very good" rating. The service was actually pretty good - the front desk staff was attentive and efficient and was eager to recommend restaurants and motorcycle roads suggestions. The hot breakfast was included and was pretty decent. The hotel is fairly old but kept up pretty well. We did not use the pool, although it was also fairly decent. It was quiet and we ended up staying 2 nights because of its centralized location for the sights we wanted to see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The outside of the building was newly painted and the blacktop had just been sealed that day. The swimming pool was in the process of repair and refilling, so we didn't get to use it, but it wasn't a bathtub like the last two hotels we stay at. The inside decor had NOT been updated, but it was clean and quiet and we slept well. The breakfast selection was good, but when we were out of something we had to go around behind the front desk to the open door of the hotel laundermat and say "hello?", eventually a young lady came and took care of stuff (front desk, fold laundry and do breakfast duty??). Water pressure for the shower was lacking and people kept propping the back door open because the card reader was broke.

Room Tip: Chinese restaurant on site was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The front desk people were surly for sure - I enjoyed the challenge. In contrast, the hallway and rooms were pretty nice. The room had all the amenities: fridge, microwave, TV, wireless internet. It was quiet. We slept well. There was a variety of options for breakfast - your average or above average continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were driving from Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument (near Cochiti Pueblo) to the Valles (or Jemez) Caldera near Los Alamos. Our 2011 ( ! ) guidebook gave little hope of us finding overnight accomodations in Los Alamos. (We found out the next day that the guidebook was totally wrong. Los Alamos has plenty of modern accomodations.) So we detoured to Espanola for lodging. This Comfort Inn will shock any travellers familiar with the brand. The parking lot had a warning sign, the entrance was stark, a hallway electrical outlet had no cover, the key lock to the back door was broken, Room 116 had a balky door lock, yadda, yadda, yadda. Maybe part of the exterior problem is that adobe construction shows its age more quickly? The interior of the room, however, was better - closer to a normal Comfort Inn. For 2 adults, we paid $55.91, including tax and breakfast. My impression of the staff is that they kept the seat warm, but weren't aware that they are in the hospitality business...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Espanola hotels

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Check-In was slow, but I changed my rate request and it caused for a delay. They also couldn't find my reservation, so it was off to the car to get the confirmation number. We got our room, and it was average. The bathroom needed repainting as it had visible marks and non-removable dirt/scuff marks on the walls, but the beds were awesome, the TV was great, the Wi-Fi worked fine, the room was clean, and we were very comfortable, it's quiet, and we slept just fine. The breakfast wasn't bad, your typical continental, but they said they had sausage and there was none upon our arrival to eat. They replenished the sausage after we had already eaten, better late than never, but we didn't bother having any. Espanola doesn't offer much as far as quality hotels outside of the casino establishments, and some of the reviews of this type establishment in Espanola would sway anyone from staying at a few available at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Ok, this is not a WOW hotel. But for the price (that I paid), and considering its location and other accommodation options, I felt it was a good deal, and a pretty comfortable room. Easy parking, nice front desk service. A perfect place to crash for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 604-B S Riverside Drive, Espanola, NM 87532 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Espanola
Espanola Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.