We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building, interesting dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Paragua

El Paragua
603 Santa Cruz Rd, Espanola, NM 87532
505-753-3211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Espanola
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful building, interesting dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's worth eating dinner here just to see this neat building at night - murals, ivy, red lanterns and rock construction - and that's just the outside. This place feels like a step back in time. I give it a 4 for the overall experience, but the food alone is probably only worth a 3. It's pretty average and a little pricey, but if you are visiting Chimayo it's worth checking it out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    53
    25
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NM
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hard to believe this excellent restaurant spawned the largely average El Parasol chain. Best restaurant in Espanola. Requires shirts w/sleeves.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe,NM
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Been here a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Like how they take pride in their food and service. They make you feel welcomed. They also have ElParaso with has the best chicken tacos..you won't be disappointed here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Kind of Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was really looking forward to eating at this restaurant based on the reviews. However, I found the place dark, somewhat moldy smelling, and while the service was ok, and the food was serviceable, I felt the prices were way out of line considering the atmosphere and quality of the food.

I recommend that anyone spending any time in Espanola give it a try, but take my word for it, the very best dining in Espanola is actually about 9 miles away in the tiny town of Chimayo. Not only does the Rancho de Chimayo Restaurante excel in service, atmosphere and great tasting food, but the prices are nearly half of the El Paragua menu prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place that was recommended to us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place was recommended to us by the staff at Inn at the Delta. We enjoyed it very much. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful. The atmosphere was interesting. We really liked it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paragua also viewed

 

Been to El Paragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.